Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 10:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Angry MSI N560GTX Ti Hawk - Black Screen!

Hi folks,
I just installed a brand new MSI N560GTX Ti Hawk but I have an odd issue..

Mobo : Intel based (don'T have the actual model right now)
RAM : 4 GB 800Mhz
CPU : Q6600
PSU : Corsair TX750W

with 4 SATA drives, soundblaster x-fi gamers and D-Link Lan card...

So..
I installed the card, plugged in both 6 pin connectors, rebooted and got : bios splash screen then black screen....

- uninstalled drivers using display access from the onboard vid... rebooted, same result
- checked mobo bios : up-to-date

- unplugged both 6pins and rebooted : all just fine, boots all the way to win7 64bits
- plugged 1 connector only : same as above, all the way to win7 64bits

As soon as I plug in both 6 pins, I see the bios splash screen and then nothing...

yet the corsair does have a 12V rail and can push up to 60a !!!!

Serioussly.... any ideas ?
need more ram ?
better cpu ?
better psu ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 10:55 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Tr re-installing windows or different PCI-e port on your mobo. If nothing do go the to shop where you got the card and get another one. This one might be defective. It suck but it happen from time to time.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah, I'll try on different PC's ...
if that fails ... guess I'll have to ship it back and wait for a new one hoping the transport cie wont mess that one up too!

thx
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 11:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 48
Default

did you try disabling the onboard video in the bios? some boards default to the onboard unless you tell it to use the dedicated in bios. You didn't state if this was an uprade from an old card or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 12:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

onboard was disabled, I had a 250GTS so the N560GTX Ti Hawk was to be an upgrade.

- switched the cards, didn't work
- reinstalled the drivers with those provided with the new card, didn't work
- managed to get in the bios to activate the onboard (had it disabled before) just to see if the 560 was detected but to no avail
- even tried with the 6 pin adapters form the 560 box instead of the 6 pins on my psu in case one of them was defect but again to no avail

all the red leds are lit when both 6 pin connectors are used and the closest I got what the bios splash screen with a flicker ... as if it "almost" worked... or tried to at least! hehe
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 02:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

there might be a short on the second 6 pin power connector?

is it always the same one or it can be any of the two?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 04:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

hmmm for some reason I think there is something with the mobo actually since I tested it in another PC and it worked fine...

so thx all for the ideas :)

GAME ON !!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 08:07 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Could be some hardware incompatibility. especially if it's a no name mobo that you can't find trace of the model :P
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 08:23 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

You say your running a q6600 but don't say what your board your using.

Care to fill in those details.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI 560 Hawk vs GB 560 SOC vs MSI 6950 TF3 -Clive- Video Cards 13 June 16, 2011 11:51 AM
MSI Unleashes the N560GTX Hawk FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 April 18, 2011 01:54 PM
MSI N560GTX-Ti Hawk grifter11 Video Cards 5 April 14, 2011 05:26 PM
Fresh & Valuable NVIDIA Participator - msi N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II OC review windwithme Video Cards 7 February 25, 2011 03:17 AM
MSI Launches N460GTX HAWK 1 GB Graphics Card FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 September 2, 2010 12:38 PM