Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 06:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default HELP!

Im looking for a graphics card that can run Battlefield bad company 2 at max settings at 60fps my budget is $300

i have been looking for 3 staight hours can someone help me. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 06:55 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

What resolution are you playing at? For most resolutions a 560 should do it, I would think.

My 260 does fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 07:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
What resolution are you playing at? For most resolutions a 560 should do it, I would think.

My 260 does fine.
What kind of 560
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 07:27 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

What resolution do you play at? That is a pretty important bit of info for a recommendation.

I havent actually used fraps while playing since I got my 560Ti but at 1920x1200 I have no problems with most everything at max. Its not a min 60fps though it doesn't drop anywhere close enough to stutter.
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 07:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

or a 6950.

or a highly clocked 6850/gtx460 :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 07:36 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Oh yeah, what are your current system specs?

The more info we have the better. We could be giving bad advice suggesting a card that your PSU cant handle for example. You should head to your UserCP and fill out your specs so all the info is available.
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 07:49 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,580

My System Specs

Default

According to his system specs, he's gaming on a 42" LCD 1080p TV so his resolution is most likely going to be 1920 x 1080, although he should probably more look towards a card that'll have a harder time maxing BF3 then BC2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 08:02 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Yea, its there now.

I just played a bit, jumped on a few different maps. Close quarters with lots of stuff going on I never saw it dip below ~70fps. This is at 1920x1200 with everything on high, 2xMSAA, 4xAF, vsync and HBAO disabled. The numbers I remembered must have been with my 5850.
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 08:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffaholic View Post
Yea, its there now.

I just played a bit, jumped on a few different maps. Close quarters with lots of stuff going on I never saw it dip below ~70fps. This is at 1920x1200 with everything on high, 2xMSAA, 4xAF, vsync and HBAO disabled. The numbers I remembered must have been with my 5850.
on battlefield bad company 2 with 5850 never dropped below 70 fps?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2011, 08:26 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

It was 70fps with the rig in my signature. I played for a while after my first post in this thread. It was lower with the 5850.
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes