Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 11:20 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
st,if i write down the lot, would there be room for anyone else's opinion? :)

either way for single card with no oc's a 500 watter(that does deliver stable 500 watts on the 12v) will be enough.
Yeah but giving wrong advice at the get go is just stupid.

Sure a stable 500Watter is more than suffice (I run SLI and a serious i7 system on a 650, but its a DAMN good 650).

That Thermal take is the equiv of a Paper weight for as much trust as I would put in it.

Suprisingly though, if it was a Thermaltake Grand, those are actually very good PSU's.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 11:23 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wrong? not quite. i like amd, you like nvidia, the other guy lieks matrox :p

anyhow, id rather see him get some on the dozer or sb is the amd chip doesnt perform(but it should)
along with a whole system haul :)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 11:43 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
wrong? not quite. i like amd, you like nvidia, the other guy lieks matrox :p

anyhow, id rather see him get some on the dozer or sb is the amd chip doesnt perform(but it should)
along with a whole system haul :)
WRong yes, for a Card that his PSU would likely die trying to run.

I like both regardless. Sometimes dan, you don't quite get what I am saying.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2011, 10:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 48
Default

What I'd recommend is going with this GTX 570

NCIX.com - Buy PNY GeForce GTX 570 Fermi 732MHZ 1280MB 3.8GHZ GDDR5 2XDVI Mini-HDMI PCI-E DirectX 11 Video Card - PNY Technologies Inc - VCGGTX570XPB - in Canada Technologies Inc&promoid=1338

It is currently on for 319.26 (289.26 with MIR) and this psu on sale for 49.99, as I'd be nervous runing a higher end video card on the one you have.

NCIX.com - Buy Enermax Naxn ENP550AWT Tomahawk II 550W ATX 12V 24PIN PCIe Erp Lot 6 2010 Ready Power Supply Retail - ENERMAX - NAXN ENP550AWT - in Canada

Total 369.98 then sell your old power supply for 20-25 which brings you back under budget, quite a bit under if you actually fil out the MIR, and end up with a way faster and reliable system.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2011, 11:14 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default



there is so much spoon feeding one can administer,st.

anyway.

6950 or 570 will serve him well.

and a nice seasonic or seasonic built psu,of course.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2011, 01:29 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by melikepc81 View Post
hi

I need advice im upgrading a ATI HD 5750,this a "BUDGET PC" so yea.
Im looking for somthing more powerful b/c i want to play game like Metro 2033,BF2,Crisis 2,duke nukem forever.So my price range is $300-$350.But im a bit worrried b/c i have a mid-size ATX case othere then that i "think" im ok.

Pc spec AMD Athlon II X4 635 2.9GHz, 6GB DDR3, Thermaltake TR2 W0388RU 600W ATX, HP 20' Ready LCD monitor 1600x900, motherboard name: H-RS880-uATX, Chipset: AMD 785G.


"update" after a day or so of looking around Newegg im going to buy http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130620.its $359.99 but im going to get $40.00 Rebate Car.I did measure my case and i think its going fit the Card Dimensions of the gtx 570 is only 9" x 4.38" and the ati 5750 that i have now is 7.25" x 4.38" x 1.5" and after measure my case it come out to like 17" so i think thats good.I can't thank u guys enough for all ur help and advice.Cant wait to get its coming in 3 days!!!!!!!!!





C



Card Dimensions



PLease make sure you get a New PSU mate as well. Otherwise you might live to regret your decision on this one.

Just a word of warning,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2011, 02:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Had a evga gtx 570, card started artifacting on me after 2 weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2011, 03:26 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bshan67 View Post
Had a evga gtx 570, card started artifacting on me after 2 weeks.
Brand new? you need to test with another power supply, more powerful preferably. situation persists? rma
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2011, 10:52 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,736

My System Specs

Default

TBH on that monitor.. I'd nearly suggest not bothering..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 11:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Yes it was brand new. Returned it and got two gtx 480's. Psu wasnt the problem, I run my two 480's just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card advice needed drako Video Cards 13 July 25, 2010 11:10 AM
New video card advice JBM12G Video Cards 24 June 29, 2010 01:47 PM
Buying a video card, need help. phantom478 Video Cards 11 July 6, 2009 12:19 PM
[WTB] Buying List - PCI Video Card & Wireless Router Sipek Buy/Sell & Trade 10 May 4, 2009 09:12 PM
Video Card Buying Guide Babrbarossa Video Cards 16 June 19, 2007 07:54 PM