Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 02:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default AMD 6970 Vs GTX 570

whats a better bang for my buck?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 02:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

easy,a 6950. or two.

edit. 1 giger for single screen,2 giger for multi screen. the reference 2's have a decent
chance of unlocking.

and 2 1 gigers :

AMD Radeon HD 6950 1GB Video Card in CrossFire - Benchmarks - High Quality AA and AF :: TweakTown USA Edition

Last edited by _dangtx_; June 11, 2011 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

do you happen to know if the alienware aurora r2 supports PCI express 2.1 cards?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 03:03 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no idea,best to ask them.

but in theory new cards will work in recent hardware,as a rule of thumb.

if you take the first mobo with a pci-e out? maybe not.

post your full specs btw,helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2011, 05:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

P55 mobo.. not sure which one its some alienware one... core i5 quad core @ 2.8 ghz 6 gb ram currently running dual shitty 5670s cuz alienware ripped me off.... upgrading tomorow to a gtx 570 cuz the alienware support guy said that my mobo does not support pcie express 2.1 cards... although it seems odd that it doesnt... i have one last question if your currently veiwing the fourum, the new card im getting is a x16 bus capeability or something, i just checked CCC and my current card is x8 bus capeability do you know if the gtx 570 pcie express 2.0 x16 card would be backwards compatable with my mobo if it only supports x8? although this is just speculation, as i am realising that alienware effectively ripped me off of every feature that should come standard :P.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2011, 06:54 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Since it is a P55 board. With 2 cards both PCIE default to 8x per card, if your only using 1 GPU it will default to 16x.

GTX 570 is PCIE2.0 That dell support guy is a retard, and make sure you have 2x 6 pin power.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 03:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

i have a 875 watt psu so im sure theres the power connectors in there, if theres not im pretty sure most graphics cards now adays come with extra 6 pin power connecters.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 05:43 AM
AMD 6970/6950 On the Egg Chromey Video Cards 5 December 14, 2010 08:56 PM
Rumor of GTX 570 and GTX 560 on its way vohiep84 Rumor Mill 15 November 20, 2010 07:43 AM
release date for amd 6970 CTA Rumor Mill 3 November 11, 2010 09:02 PM
AMD 570 vs AMD 770 AM2 boards Flintblade CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 21, 2008 02:14 AM