Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 09:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default visiontek hd 6870 bios help

can I use other manufacturer bios for update? the one I have right now is from Oct 2010. or do I just need to upadte AMD catalyst? thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 03:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

help? anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 03:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

out of curiosity, why would it need upgrading?

if its reference and you find another reference, should work..:)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 04:23 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

out of more curiosity, what would make you assume you have to change the card's BIOS???
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 06:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
out of curiosity, why would it need upgrading?

if its reference and you find another reference, should work..:)
thank you first for the answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltron 3030 View Post
out of more curiosity, what would make you assume you have to change the card's BIOS???
to answer both of you:

the fan speed I am getting for this card is 40-45% idle at 40-43 c, loaded (95-99% usage) 70% at about 70 C. no OC here. it seems too high for idle (both the temp and fan speed). i know that I can use afterburner or something similar to lower the fan speed. however, the temp would increase, and then the fan speed would follow and get loaded as well. I am wondering if I flash the bios to a newer version or another manufacturer would help me reduce the temp or fan speed of the card at idle.

if you're wondering the temps I am getting for my other parts, they all stay low at idle or loaded
room temp: 20-22 normally

cpu: idle 23 C, load 50C
hd: 35 C-38 C always
motherboard: idle 36 C, load 43 C

I did look up the bios online, it seems that the one I am having is the latest for reference.

do you guys have any comment with kombustor, accurate? I only mean for the temp reading, because the highest temp I am getting from its test is 61C (shows 99% usage), never goes below 40C though. I use aida64 to monitor the temps normally. for GPU, it's between 40-70C.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 06:29 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

i have the exact same card and have the same temps as you do. i think your worrying to much.
matter of fact i dont think ive ever heard the fan run itself up unless ive done it myself.
which is a huge improvement over my old hd4890
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2011, 06:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
i have the exact same card and have the same temps as you do. i think your worrying to much.
matter of fact i dont think ive ever heard the fan run itself up unless ive done it myself.
which is a huge improvement over my old hd4890
thank you. it's good to know this is normal for this card.

you're right, the sound (noise) I am getting is all from my coolit eco-r120 at idle (I would be grateful if anyone can tell how to reduce it). only when loaded, I can hear some from the card. so far, I don't have any complaint with this card other than the idle fan speed/temp.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupt BIOS? Main BIOS Checksum Error geokilla Troubleshooting 8 February 26, 2013 12:13 PM
[FS] Asus 6870 and Saphire 6870 Graphic Cards Arinoth Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 26, 2011 06:41 PM
Visiontek any good? Caldezar Video Cards 15 February 14, 2010 11:21 AM
Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS? Kayen Troubleshooting 5 August 7, 2008 07:31 PM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 08:33 AM