Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 09:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default AMD RADEON HD 6950 1GB GDDRS- Problems----Fixed

Hey, I just got a new computer recently, got the parts seperatley and builided it my self. I got a problem when i usually scroll down or even when the screen is still these small square thing keep popping up on my screen, some times they even change and look like retarded shapes. I got no idea what to do and if you could help me it will be very helpfull.

Grathics card-AMD RADEON HD 6950 1GB GDDRS

Thankyou.

Last edited by eskyy; June 11, 2011 at 12:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 09:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hey. those might be artifacts.

post the full system specs, and dont use the computer in the meantime.

also,where did you buy them?
do you have warrenty?


welcome aboard, btw
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 09:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Specs-
Intel core 15-2500 3.3ghz-Cpu
ASRock p-67Exteme p67 usb3 ddr3-Motherboard
Kingston 4gb DDr3 1333-Ram
Seagate 3,5' barracuda 1tb HDD
AMD RADEON HD 6950 1GB GDDRS
Seasonic m1211-520 watt 80plus bronze power supply unit

These are from the reciept, got these from msy and been using comp for 2 weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

allright



that it?


plug in the extra power mollex.

swap pci-e slots

try another card? anything at all

also get mint or ubuntu and put it on a dvd, boot from that

but i'd check the hw part first. reseat it as well(well youll do that when changing slots)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:44 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Plugging in the molex power will do absolutely nothing unless you're running 2/3/4 way SLI/crossfire...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 11:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

use a tool capable of artifact scanning, think furmark and ATI Tray Tools (if it still works with the now AMD branded cards) have such a function. This could help figure if the problem is from ur PC or ur screen...also are u using a digital link like dvi/hdmi or analog like vga for example?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 11:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

did you install the video drivers from the CD or from amd's website ?

if cd...then go to amd.com and download the latest drivers from there
(drivers download is on the right side of the main page)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 11:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

maybe,maybe not

it did fix things with a 580 :)

the weird character part kinda tells me its hw related...could be drivers too
thats why i mentioned the live cd thing :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2011, 06:43 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Contact the store where you bought the parts ASAP. Within 30 days you should be able to do an exchange once they confirm the issues are with the GPU.

There are some things to try first:

- Are these issues with ALL games?

- Install GPU-Z, open it and tick off the box that says "Continue to refresh...", click on the Sensors tab. There you will see a GPU Core temperature. While GPU-Z is still open in the background, boot the game which is having the issues and play until you see the artifacts. Then alt-tab out and check the Max temperature; you can do this by clicking on the number displayed next to the small Core Temperature graph until it says "MAX". Let us know what the temperature is.

- What brand of HD 6950 is it?

- While this may be RMA worthy, it may be a few days before an RMA number is issued by the manufacturer or the store where you bought it. In the meantime, you can download MSI Afterburner and downclock the core and memory speeds by about 25Mhz each to see if that helps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 12:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the help, I returned it into the store and they replaced it, they said it was an artifact problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
6950 , gddrs , problem , square tears on screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX 1GB or MSI GTX 560 TI ? Rush Video Cards 17 March 26, 2011 08:30 PM
AMD Radeon HD 6950 1GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 17 January 31, 2011 05:14 PM
AMD Radeon 6950 1GB Shedding Pounds [Updated] FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 13 January 19, 2011 02:37 PM