Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 02:08 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default I'm getting that itch... EVGA step-up is running out

It's getting to the point where it doesn't look like I'll make the 9800GX2 release.

My step-up expires on Feb 20.

I'm thinking of putting it in just in case. If I apply for an Ultra and it's out of stock, maybe they'll send a GX2 instead

I'm still very tempted to sell this and grab the 3870x2 (x2)

My monitor's native res is 1920x1200
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 02:17 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default Yes

Yes with the Chinese New Year seems like its not going to be released till March. Personally by the time you've spent money on customs duties and shipping your might as well just sell the GTX and buy the next GTX when its released (rather than a GX2).
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 02:21 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 519

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
Yes with the Chinese New Year seems like its not going to be released till March. Personally by the time you've spent money on customs duties and shipping your might as well just sell the GTX and buy the next GTX when its released (rather than a GX2).


+1. I did a step from Canada and regret it bigtime. To make things really bad it was DOA and I had to pay to ship for an RMA. All-in-all from the time I shipped the original card to getting a working step-up was about 2 months.

It was an awfull experience and I really only saved little cash and that was more than consumed by shipping the RMA.

Step-Up + Canada = no good.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.

Last edited by turtletrax; February 1, 2008 at 02:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 06:07 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

Just one more penalty for living north of the 49th parallel...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 08:07 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Although I've read that very recently they changed their policy to declare the goods as RMA so you don't get dinged on the duties.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 08:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Although I've read that very recently they changed their policy to declare the goods as RMA so you don't get dinged on the duties.
Who's their preferred shipper though? If it's not through the actual postal system you'll be dinged with "brokerage fees" in both directions.

How much do you save on a new card by upgrading? I find it hard to believe that there is any or at least a significant difference between upgrading it, and selling the card used to make up the difference.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 09:32 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Who's their preferred shipper though? If it's not through the actual postal system you'll be dinged with "brokerage fees" in both directions.

How much do you save on a new card by upgrading? I find it hard to believe that there is any or at least a significant difference between upgrading it, and selling the card used to make up the difference.
True enough... by the time you factor in shipping, brokerage and all that other crap, I'd probably be better off putting it up on Craigslist and grabbing something locally.

Well, I won't buy EVGA again just because of the Step-Up program. Nice marketing, but not so nice reality for Canucks.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 10:13 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

I also got porked hard on a step up as well. I would not advise anyone buy EVGA just for the step up. I would also say it is not very logical to sell a 8800GTX and buy a 3870 X2 since the performance gained is minimal. 8800GTX's are not selling for what they used to. If anything, get it on Ebay NOW before the prices fall any further. If you're lucky, you'll see $400+ for it there.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 06:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 10
Default

I did a few mistake when I purchase my computer. I bought the 8800gts 340 at 209$; great card for the price but this card don't match with my system. I regret to didn't pay 50$ more to acquire the 8800gt (but I thinked the step-up program).

If I understand well, the step-up isn't a good deal for me.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 09:01 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I think I'll just keep my GTX and watercool it and wait for R700/G100 (or whatever)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA step-up program, yes or no? dboulay79 Video Cards 3 February 9, 2008 06:11 PM
Running RAM 1:1 still the best? biff RAM 12 January 29, 2008 06:30 AM
EVGA Step-up Program Question Mr. Cipher Video Cards 6 October 29, 2007 03:29 PM
E6700 Running way too hot. r00tman CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 12, 2007 03:48 PM
DriverHeaven has a step-by-step guide to building a PC Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 1, 2007 09:56 AM