Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2011, 01:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Default total frame buffer in sli setup

just out of curiosity
if we have 2 cards in sli
say a gtx 580 1.5gb nd a gtx 580 3gb in sli
will d frame buffer b 1.5gb or 3gb

btw i'm not sure if dis sli setup is possible or not jst asking
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2011, 01:38 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

The amount of available memory would be that of the lowest card, so 1.5gb for the setup quoted.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2011, 03:37 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

which means the 3gb card will never actually use more than 1.5gb?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2011, 04:03 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT7R View Post
which means the 3gb card will never actually use more than 1.5gb?
Exactly, SLI or Xfire is always limited to the card with the lowest memory.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2011, 08:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

yup each card is using 1.5 gb. the one with 3gb only uses half

which is really here or there
you just doubled most of your FPS anyways

(except for those games that don't like sli)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
570SLI needs larger frame buffer at 6144X1152 (NVsurround)? Phill Video Cards 13 March 27, 2011 07:22 PM
Help Me Finding A PSU For My SLI Setup fedoraftw Power Supplies 10 February 6, 2011 10:58 PM
[WTB] GTX285 or SLI/Tri-SLI setup CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 21, 2011 02:36 PM
[WTT] WTT: Sapphire 4870x2 for your SLI setup MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 7, 2009 09:08 AM
Stack 830 SLI setup Robilar(OCN) Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 March 16, 2008 01:19 PM