Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 01:06 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Mike and I had a discussion via PM that might be informative.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hfxmike
Thanks you soooooo much! I was about to lose my mind. I love the red card - and the fact that it isn't 10" long!

Thanks for putting all the puzzle pieces together for me.

Feel free to copy paste this into the thread for closure : )

I'll be sure to report back with some benchmarks when I get it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfxmike
hi - you seem to know ref design and pcb revision stuff. can you explain in simple words why I should get this one, and not back out of the sale (in order to get the regular, bigger one).

is this one newer or older?

thanks
mike
It's a newer card. But their marketing dept. hasn't changed the website.

The only reason to be concerned about reference design PCB's is if you are going to put an aftermarket cooler or waterblock on the card.

When cards are first released, AMD is supplying the GPU chip, the PCB, and cooling assembly to their partners, who then label and package the cards. This is the "reference" design we refer to.

After release, it's very common for companies to redesign and build both the PCB and cooler themselves, either for cost savings, esthetics or performance benefits, or all three.

In this case, Diamondtech says they have used the reference design, and had it custom built using a red PCB to match the rest of their cards. They have also designed their own cooler with a semi-transparent plastic which is common to them. I had a Diamond 4870 with the same semi-trans red plastic.

There shouldn't be any problems putting aftermarket cooling on this card as it's a reference design. The only question is whether you like the cooler. It won't perform any worse than the reference "box" cooler, and may actually be better.

I would have no problem buying the card if I was looking for a used 6870.

tl;dr version: It's good, enjoy your new card.

Cheers,
SugarJ
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 03:30 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Mike and I had a discussion via PM that might be informative.

tl;dr version: It's good, enjoy your new card.



Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 06:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

For what it's worth, the card is in the mail....now let's just hope CP doesn't go on strike.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2011, 11:17 AM
Vittra's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviant View Post
lol...this is more of a shocker than the card in question considering Diamond's reputation (i.e. replying to someone 4 months later after warranty has ended...).
I recall a post by Diamond a few months back on Hardforum indicting they were working on reorganizing their support/RMA.

Based on their presence here now and how fast hfxmike was helped via phone, I'd say they are making good on working towards that.

Good to know.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 09:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

The card just arrived - took some quick pics:
(didn't expect the miniDP ->DP)
not sure about using the single molex -> 6pin pci-e though. (?)






Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 11:18 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hfxmike View Post
not sure about using the single molex -> 6pin pci-e though. (?)
If your psu already has the 6pin connector then don't bother with the adapter.
If your psu doesn't have the connector, then you'll either have to replace your psu or use the adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Luckily my PSU had 2x6pin connectors (I completely forgot).

I was wondering about the single molex- 6pin because other cards come with dual molex -> 6 pin.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

very nice addition with the included connector!

20$ value or what?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2011, 05:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

unfortunately i can use only one of the DVI ports though - I started a new thread - this one has a crazy title.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2011, 11:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

The fillrates on this card seem to be on the lowside compared to other screenshots I've seen. How does this look:
[edit - shouldn't this have 1120 shaders - it is a 6870]

Last edited by hfxmike; June 3, 2011 at 12:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Urgent !!! Local Toronto - Need 2 -1/2in Barbs !!! Urgent mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 3, 2011 04:44 PM
Problems with Telus' D-Link D-link DVA G3810BN - extra router? chartkor Networking 8 January 3, 2011 11:55 PM
[FS] NDS lite + D-Link DWA-552 a/b/g/n Xtreme Wireless Card Cowboy Buy/Sell & Trade 34 November 9, 2010 07:35 AM
Looking to Buy TV Tuner Card, please give Suggestions!! (urgent) howdid HTPC Systems & Software 14 September 23, 2008 08:44 AM
First we saw fake hardware reviews... now fake software ones??? sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 9 August 24, 2007 12:22 PM