Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2011, 09:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surabaya, East Java
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default Known SLI Issues

Dear HWC Residents,

I currently have in my setup 1 GTX 460 1GB attached to a GIGABYTE 790FXT-UD5P and unlocked/overclocked 720BE to 3.4Ghz. I am planning on adding another GTX 460 to the mix, is this wise? Will my processor bottleneck the performance?
Also is there any outstanding SLI problems with SLI'ed GTX 460 in games and/or applications?

Your opinions are very much appreciated.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2011, 09:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if thge application has a decent profile for multi cards, why not.
minimum frames will deep below what you would see with a single higher end card,sometimes, max and the resulting median should be
fine though
your cpu should be good ,of course a sandy bridge will perform better,but hey.
your psu will be ok too.
although id not sli perhaps and get a higher end card. try to score a used 580
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:59 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
if thge application has a decent profile for multi cards, why not.
minimum frames will deep below what you would see with a single higher end card,sometimes, max and the resulting median should be
fine though
your cpu should be good ,of course a sandy bridge will perform better,but hey.
your psu will be ok too.
although id not sli perhaps and get a higher end card. try to score a used 580
I've actually got a 580 and a pair of 460's. Both running on 24" monitors and honestly the 460's are just enough ahead to notice. Considering the price difference, I'd stay with the 460's in this case.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 02:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

I have sli 460 and it running pretty nice, the only game i got that is not using it is shift 2 out of 40
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 04:16 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

im surprised no one has said this yet, bbuutt amd boards dont natively support sli. youd have to do a board/bios hack to get sli to work, its not that hard its just problems can be pretty bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 05:10 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

The only issue I see is your AMD board.

Anyways, how much performance are you looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by techman95 View Post
im surprised no one has said this yet, bbuutt amd boards dont natively support sli. youd have to do a board/bios hack to get sli to work, its not that hard its just problems can be pretty bad.

nope,software.2 clicketieths of deh mouseth!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
The only issue I see is your AMD board.

Anyways, how much performance are you looking for?

read above :D
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:29 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

As mentioned before, you'll need to download a certain program to enable SLI on your AMD board. I used it with my 790FX board and it was problem free. It is simple procedure to go through with, but you are tinkering with your system, so always assume the worst and make appropriate backups.

Here's a good thread to read: Sli For The Non Believer [Guide How To Eenable SLI On Non SLI Cert Mobo]

It also may answer a question or two about potential bottlenecks. My 470's were bottlenecked by my Phenom 955 @ 3.7Ghz; not terribly, but still by a worthwhile margin. Some food for thought, even if the 460's would be a bit less powerful.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 08:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Oh, didn't know sli on amd are ez sneazy now.

Your system won't be a problem.

Keep your CPU speed over 3.4ghz and you won't have a problem. Try 2400-2600 for NB and tighten those timings.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 08:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surabaya, East Java
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

First I want to thank you to _dangtx_, soultribunal, ryoohki, techman95, 5ILVgeARX, DokkRokken for your inputs.
Yes I am aware that my mobo does not support SLI, and I am also aware of the SLIhack. It was my intention from the start to use the SLIhack. I am concerned firstly with the compability of SLI with older and current games, reading your comments I guess it is not a problem. My second concern is regard to CPU bottleneck, and this is very much confirmed. Even reaching 3.4Ghz is not easy with my chip. But, that problem is for another section of this forum.

Thank You all who have helped.


Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sli For The Non Believer [Guide How To Eenable SLI On Non SLI Cert Mobo] _dangtx_ Video Cards 13 January 25, 2011 05:25 PM
gtx 460 1GB Sli & E6300@3GHz with ASUS P5N32-E SLI ro9ue Video Cards 0 September 19, 2010 11:30 AM
New Nvidia Drivers / SLI Multi Monitor + SLI on X58 - 180.48 probationer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 November 26, 2008 09:40 AM
temp issues and sli problems voklskier4452 Troubleshooting 15 June 7, 2008 10:23 PM
Tri SLI, Quad SLI, SLI comparisons with 9800GTS, GX2 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 31, 2008 03:32 PM