Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2011, 09:36 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 39

My System Specs

Default Video Card Switch?

Hey everyone,

Here's my problem. I currently have two 560 Ti's in sli, but for a number of reasons I want to switch to a single card solution. My options at the time seem to be either a 580, 570 or keep one 560 gtx and wait for something else to arise. What do you guys think is my best option? I game at at least 2560x1600, but my main concern is that I want to be able to fold when I'm not gaming without my room becoming a sauna (watercooling is not a viable option for the gpus).

Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2011, 03:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

overclocked 560=570 stock...and 580 isn't worth the money for an upgrade imo...so just w8 for new 28nm cards next year i would say!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2011, 04:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalGreen View Post
overclocked 560=570 stock...and 580 isn't worth the money for an upgrade imo...so just w8 for new 28nm cards next year i would say!

Going to have to agree. Bottom line is all current gen cards are 40nm and have heat output directly related to there performance (I know there is some variance). If you want less heat you get less performance. Stick with one 560 and wait it out.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2011, 06:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if GPU3 supports this yet, but the ATI GPU2 folding clients do allow you to set how much GPU usage you want in the same way uniprocessor clients allow you to set CPU usage. This way I have my Radeon 4870 using 75% of the GPU for slightly reduced temps (the card isn't a marvel of efficiency )

The option is:
CPU usage requested (5-100) [100]? for the console version when you do a -config
A slider bar for the systray version

You could give that a shot, or try undervolting + underclocking the cards if your software supports setting custom clock / voltage when a program is run.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and sound card in pci-e h0nam Video Cards 7 October 20, 2010 11:26 PM
[WTB] Sound card and wc video card hausner Buy/Sell & Trade 17 August 11, 2009 01:59 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
Video Card memory 512 Available video memory 1268 mb? TwystedMonkey Troubleshooting 4 August 24, 2008 06:07 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 08:17 PM