Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2008, 10:11 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

A note about installing the 3870 x 2 on XP Pro

If you are going to install this card, have Net Framework 1.1,2 ect installed and the lastest ATI Catalyts driver downloaded on your machine PRIOR to plugging in card.
The XP Pro Default VGA Driver makes the card run Extremely hot, once the ATI drivers are installed it returns to almost bearable temperatures.
Do not take your time getting the ATI drivers installed.
Then install RivaTuner to bump the base fan speed up to 35-40%
IMHO The factory ATI fan speeds are a deliberate attept to cook cards to reduce longevity and increase profit.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2008, 10:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
A note about installing the 3870 x 2 on XP Pro

If you are going to install this card, have Net Framework 1.1,2 ect installed and the lastest ATI Catalyts driver downloaded on your machine PRIOR to plugging in card.
The XP Pro Default VGA Driver makes the card run Extremely hot, once the ATI drivers are installed it returns to almost bearable temperatures.
Do not take your time getting the ATI drivers installed.
Then install RivaTuner to bump the base fan speed up to 35-40%
IMHO The factory ATI fan speeds are a deliberate attept to cook cards to reduce longevity and increase profit.
I doubt that was the intent (although it might be the result). I suspect it was an over-reaction to the complaints about "vacuum cleaner" noise levels from the 2900 series cards, which was probably an over-reaction to complaints about overheating VRMs on reference design 1950 series cards.

If we're lucky, ATI will realise that folks want the ability to decide for themselves how load will affect fanspeed and incorporate that feature into a future driver release (obviously with the factory default max/min temps locked in to prevent folks from trying to set their ranges too low for safe reference design operation).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 02:35 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I'm still waiting on that aftermarket cooling test.
Are there any 2 heatsinks that fit on the card?
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2008, 01:10 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If we're lucky, ATI will realise that folks want the ability to decide for themselves how load will affect fanspeed and incorporate that feature into a future driver release (obviously with the factory default max/min temps locked in to prevent folks from trying to set their ranges too low for safe reference design operation).
I picked up the ASUS version and it comes with a handy little program called smart doctor which gives you alot of control over the fan speeds at specific temperatures. http://www.asus.com/999/html/share/2/icon/11/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #125 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2008, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Has anyone tried 2 of these cards in crossfireX?? I've heard that only 1 core from each is working. If thats the case then its better to get two 3870's because its basically the same thing but the DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #126 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2008, 06:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

You heard wrong. It does seem that only three gpu's are working, given performance.

For example, with QX9650 @ 3.0ghz, 1 card, I get a bit over 16k.

Add the second, I get about 1000 points more.

But, with QX9650 @ 4.0ghz, I get 20k with one card, and 23,5k with 2 cards. Clearly there is something funky going on here...

Anyhow, with all that said, unless you have a 30-inch monitor, one card is fine for most games @ 1920x1200 with no AA, except Crysis. but that's the game...
Reply With Quote
  #127 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2008, 07:11 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

I had a similar experience myself, actually. At the time, I was wondering whether or not the drivers were demanding an unusual amount of CPU processing to function, or something weird like that. But CPU speed increases seemed to be giving me an unusually strong score improvements in 3DM06, even by that bench's standards. I didn't pursue it any further (and the card's getting RMA'd now), but it's interesting to see someone else getting similar results.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comment Thread for HIS Radeon HD3870 Review SKYMTL Video Cards 183 December 3, 2009 06:33 PM
Noctua NF-P12 Comment Thread SKYMTL Water Cooling 32 January 30, 2009 08:40 PM
Comment Thread for 500W PSU Roundup SKYMTL Power Supplies 11 November 25, 2007 12:51 PM
Comment thread for Thermalright HR-03 Rev.A Review 3oh6 Water Cooling 5 November 6, 2007 11:09 AM
Comment thread for MM U2-UFO worklog Babrbarossa Water Cooling 38 June 3, 2007 02:24 AM