Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 07:04 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 85
Default

It's about time this came out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:07 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I use 2GB GTX560 SLi
Just curious which 560ti cards you are talking about? Are they Palit?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:17 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 580

My System Specs

Default

So it costs almost as much as GTX 590 but still won't run Metro 2033 @ 2560x1600?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:52 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Just curious which 560ti cards you are talking about? Are they Palit?
Yep, the Palits. Cost me $560, but make an interesting SLi set. They work great for 57X10 surround gaming, but fall a bit short in 57X10 3D Vision.

Two of these 3GB 580s would make the ultimate 3d Vision surround rig.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 05:22 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
The gains on even a single 2560 x 1600 monitor with "everything" cranked would be better than 1.5GB....
That's what I'm curious about. Why bench a 3GB card at 1920x1200? Silly if you ask me.

I'm due for a GPU upgrade though...my HD5870 Crossfire doesn't really cut it for 2560x1440 since Crossfire support can be rather lacking at times...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 08:10 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

I would wanna see more test TBH. Like I said earlier I doubt a single 580 at 2560X1600 (or 1440) will use more than 1.5GB... Now IMHO if one is multi panel gaming or running SLi/Tri Sli at uber res than >2GB ram is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2011, 08:04 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
That's what I'm curious about. Why bench a 3GB card at 1920x1200? Silly if you ask me.

I'm due for a GPU upgrade though...my HD5870 Crossfire doesn't really cut it for 2560x1440 since Crossfire support can be rather lacking at times...
Playing GTA IV 2560 x 1440 with everything cranked EXCEPT DOF set to 70% and I'm already pushing a tad over 1.2 GB VRAM.....my next GPU upgrade will be 6xxx Series and I'l be looking for 3GB Cards!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] SOLD - Evga GTX 580 SC - Almost New!! rjbarker Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 8, 2011 03:18 AM
[FS] Evga GTX 280 SC "TR" (Limited Warranty version) rjbarker Buy/Sell & Trade 43 February 25, 2010 03:35 PM