Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 07:04 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 81
Default

It's about time this came out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:07 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 552

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I use 2GB GTX560 SLi
Just curious which 560ti cards you are talking about? Are they Palit?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:17 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

So it costs almost as much as GTX 590 but still won't run Metro 2033 @ 2560x1600?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 01:52 PM
The RealRollo's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Just curious which 560ti cards you are talking about? Are they Palit?
Yep, the Palits. Cost me $560, but make an interesting SLi set. They work great for 57X10 surround gaming, but fall a bit short in 57X10 3D Vision.

Two of these 3GB 580s would make the ultimate 3d Vision surround rig.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 05:22 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
The gains on even a single 2560 x 1600 monitor with "everything" cranked would be better than 1.5GB....
That's what I'm curious about. Why bench a 3GB card at 1920x1200? Silly if you ask me.

I'm due for a GPU upgrade though...my HD5870 Crossfire doesn't really cut it for 2560x1440 since Crossfire support can be rather lacking at times...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2011, 08:10 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 552

My System Specs

Default

I would wanna see more test TBH. Like I said earlier I doubt a single 580 at 2560X1600 (or 1440) will use more than 1.5GB... Now IMHO if one is multi panel gaming or running SLi/Tri Sli at uber res than >2GB ram is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2011, 08:04 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
That's what I'm curious about. Why bench a 3GB card at 1920x1200? Silly if you ask me.

I'm due for a GPU upgrade though...my HD5870 Crossfire doesn't really cut it for 2560x1440 since Crossfire support can be rather lacking at times...
Playing GTA IV 2560 x 1440 with everything cranked EXCEPT DOF set to 70% and I'm already pushing a tad over 1.2 GB VRAM.....my next GPU upgrade will be 6xxx Series and I'l be looking for 3GB Cards!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] SOLD - Evga GTX 580 SC - Almost New!! rjbarker Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 8, 2011 03:18 AM
[FS] Evga GTX 280 SC "TR" (Limited Warranty version) rjbarker Buy/Sell & Trade 43 February 25, 2010 03:35 PM