Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 03:50 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

Also I must say that in the last week that I've owned a AMD card I have experienced many issues that I would blame on their drivers. As well I am rather unimpressed by the min frames with two 6950 in CFX. I borrowed a 2nd 6950 last weekend and tried CFX and IMHO my 570 SLI never saw such low min frames... it makes making up my mind rather difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 03:55 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Also I must say that in the last week that I've owned a AMD card I have experienced many issues that I would blame on their drivers. As well I am rather unimpressed by the min frames with two 6950 in CFX. I borrowed a 2nd 6950 last weekend and tried CFX and IMHO my 570 SLI never saw such low min frames... it makes making up my mind rather difficult.
It sucks that the 570's are showing to be somewhat weak in the power delivery field.
However yes, I have found myself with driver issues and 6950's that didn't want to perform like my other cards have.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 06:31 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

sounds like I should ditch the AMD cards and the 570's and make due with one 580...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 08:34 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

FYI I can confirm that the XFX 6950 ver1.2 unlocked.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 09:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

very nice to know, thank you

so 1gb v1.2 unlocks too.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 06:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

Oooh, that's good news, I may want to go CF and was hoping I could still get the 6970 performance at the 6950 price. :)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 06:37 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I hears about ''fried'' memory when the 6950 is ran at 6970 speeds. Is it rumors or it happened ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; April 12, 2011 at 07:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 06:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
I hears about ''fired'' memory when the 6950 is ran at 6970 speeds. Is it rumors or it happened ?
It didn't necessarily fry memory, but it was completely unstable in some cases. Which is why people only unlock the shaders now and test clock speeds on the vram/shaders/core separately.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 09:22 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

interesting,

I think I will be looking for a 6950 2GB then !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2011, 09:44 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I simply unlocked the shaders on mine; I was one of the first to try it if you look on techpowerup after one of the users there determined how to simply unlock the shaders.
It is a better option as when I tried flashing to 6970, I had artifacting issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-Reference 6950/6970? CMetaphor Video Cards 22 April 8, 2011 04:13 AM
MSI 6950 2gb Twin-Frozr 3...worth it? Socrates_Johnston Video Cards 15 April 7, 2011 09:11 PM
BenQ V2420h + XFX 6950 Prolab Troubleshooting 6 January 31, 2011 12:02 PM
Will the XFX HD 5870 Reference Design OverVolt? Kommandant986 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 May 3, 2010 03:54 PM
XFX 4890 w/ non-reference cooler (ZSFC) sindraod Video Cards 7 November 20, 2009 06:19 AM