Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 11:53 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default 570SLI needs larger frame buffer at 6144X1152 (NVsurround)?

570 SLi seems to not have enough vram to game at that res. One of my favorite games to play is Dirt2 and soon to be Dirt 3 (I assume). I thought that Dirt2 would be awesome with NVsurround. I tried playing yesterday and my FPS are not good. I turned AA off and even started to lower other settings to no avail. I need 60 min FPS constant not 30ish.

I am not sure what to do now, get 6950 2GB CFX or just get a U2711, keep the 570 SLI and ditch multi panel gaming? Look at the rest of my system specs, you will see that they are not at fault (IMHO).

What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 12:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

A GTX570 SLi has more graphics processing power than a HD6950 Crossfire. At that high of a resolution you definitely need more VRAM to cope with the extra resolution. Your GTX 570 has only 1.28GB of VRAM and not 2.56GB combined.

If you could afford a HD6950 2GB CF then you might as well go all the way for a HD6970 2GB CF. It has definitely more performance than the GTX570 and HD6950.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 03:20 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

6970 CFX is too expensive TBH. As well I would like to hear from eyefinity users first hand if the 2GB on AMD 69XX cards will be enough for 6144X1152? Lastly another concern that I have with a move to AMD is that from what I hear AMD drivers are not all that good and I do NOT want to mess with crap drivers regardless of the brand.

I am thinking that I should just go with a U2711 and forget NVsurround/eyefinity. AFAIK my 570 SLi should beable to handle 2560X1440. According to video card reviews at HWC this seems to be true.

Please continue to give me feedback concerning these issues. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 03:45 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Phill is right in assuming his problem. I have the same issue with my 560s and very high AA in nvidia surround in Dragon Age 2, the 1GB doesnt have enough buffer to handle it all, whereas your 1280MB 570s have the same issue for your game. The 6970 crossfire would potentially lead to better performance at the resolution due to more memory being able to be address/used at the same time compared to your 570s.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 03:47 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

so what would be best then? get the U2711/one large display or pony up and get 6970 CFX?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 03:48 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

I am leaning toward one big display
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 03:52 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I've done the one big display, sure it was 1920 x 1080 on a 32" LCD TV, i absolutely love multi-monitor gaming instead (and i'm done to 21.5" monitors) and could never go back to single big monitor gaming. Hell whenever i'm doing work or reports i typically have all three monitors filled with information as its nice to not have to tab through things, rather have it all being displayed visible at once.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 04:04 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

so does that mean that when you are not gaming you activate all displays or do you leave them spanned and then just window everything?

As well I must say that when I mention getting one big display I mean that in terms of gaming. I will still have more than one for all other types work. Generally I like at least one in portrait mode.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 05:38 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

I borrowed a single a 6970 from my cousin and it alone is better than my two 570's in SLi in Dirt 2. This simply confirms what I already suspected/knew. :(
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2011, 05:53 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

yeah u pretty much correctly analysed ur problem and possible solutions. basically it all comes down to u weather u wana keep multi display and go to amd or stay with nvidia and get a single better display! this is just a preference choice, not something with a right or wrong answer...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too early for NVSurround/Eyefinity? Luay79 Video Cards 10 January 15, 2011 08:03 PM
2 small or 1 larger SSD Toyoracer Storage 4 July 30, 2010 06:47 AM
[WTB] IDE HD 150gb or Larger kazyn Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 31, 2009 02:25 PM
160 mm or larger CTA Air Cooling 14 December 13, 2008 01:40 PM
Larger review photos. encorp Suggestions & Feedback 18 September 19, 2008 04:06 PM