Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 11:25 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 629

My System Specs

Default

I just hooked up dual monitors (not identical) on my 2x 5870s today. Both monitors plugged into my top (primary) card.

Go into CCC - Desktop Management - Creating and Arranging Desktops. Put the monitors however you want them (on the proper side of each other). Right click on your primary monitor that you want to game on and click "make primary". Then right click your secondary and click "extend".

This did the trick for me. Then I seemed to have a problem with the main screen flickering when running 2D apps (movies, loading screens in games etc...) 3D ran fine. Turns out that to get rid of the flickering you need to keep the cards running consistent clocks. By that I mean that your idle, 2d and 3d clocks need to be set the same. I did this using MSI Afterburner. Sucks to not be able to let the cards idle down when just surfing the net etc. (or to have to adjust clocks manually....)
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 01:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,219

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
I just hooked up dual monitors (not identical) on my 2x 5870s today. Both monitors plugged into my top (primary) card.

Go into CCC - Desktop Management - Creating and Arranging Desktops. Put the monitors however you want them (on the proper side of each other). Right click on your primary monitor that you want to game on and click "make primary". Then right click your secondary and click "extend".

This did the trick for me. Then I seemed to have a problem with the main screen flickering when running 2D apps (movies, loading screens in games etc...) 3D ran fine. Turns out that to get rid of the flickering you need to keep the cards running consistent clocks. By that I mean that your idle, 2d and 3d clocks need to be set the same. I did this using MSI Afterburner. Sucks to not be able to let the cards idle down when just surfing the net etc. (or to have to adjust clocks manually....)
That's why the 6990 has very high idle power consumption when you add additional monitors :) To prevent the screen flicker.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 monitors on linux importpsycho Video Cards 7 November 14, 2010 11:13 AM
triple monitors kyle_L Display Units 1 December 26, 2008 10:04 PM
dual monitors cmac79 Guides & How-to's 27 October 16, 2008 03:36 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
2 Monitors ih8purple Display Units 3 January 22, 2008 11:09 PM