Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default 5770 Crossfired (PCI-E 2.0 x16 & x4)

I was stupid and didnt spend an extra 10 dollars for a motherboard with 2 x16 PCI-E slots XD

So my 1st 5770 is in the 16x slot ATM, but when I get my other card it will go into the x4 slot.
Has anyone crossfired any ATI/AMD card with x16 & x4 PCI-E slots?
I just want to know if there was a performance gain or loss, because spending like $100 for my performance to worsen would piss me off :S

here is a link to my motherboard: Newegg.com - ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

I already ordered my second 5770, should I be worried?
I read somewhere that some guy felt a big difference, but does anyone know for sure?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:10 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

You shouldn't notice that much of a difference, at most you'd see it in benchmark, even at that it would be significantly. I speak from experience where iwas running 6870 in crossfire eyefinity on a H67 board (2500 processor) and noticed no visually noticeble frame losses compared to it running in my standard machine (x16 x16 in 1366 rig).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You shouldn't notice that much of a difference, at most you'd see it in benchmark, even at that it would be significantly. I speak from experience where iwas running 6870 in crossfire eyefinity on a H67 board (2500 processor) and noticed no visually noticeble frame losses compared to it running in my standard machine (x16 x16 in 1366 rig).
wait really lol you're running 6870's crossfired on 16x and 4x PCI-E 2.0??!?!!?
Hows the performance? I mean how much more performance do you get from one card to two cards?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:48 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLives View Post
wait really lol you're running 6870's crossfired on 16x and 4x PCI-E 2.0??!?!!?
Hows the performance? I mean how much more performance do you get from one card to two cards?
While my 1366 board was being RMAed, i was testing out crossfire eyefinity on it. I never benchmarked at all however performance wise in games i was able to keep the same high settings on games i was playing prior on my 940 @ 3.8 without any noticeable slow down in frames. Only difference i noticed in frames was moving from 6870s to 560s (1366 platform)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:56 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I had x16/x4 CF... I went and spent the money to go x8/x8. It works, but you may notice a LOT of CPU overhead depending on your motherboard.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 06:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 211
Default

I think there's a benchmark somewhere on Techpowerup about running at x4... you're looking at a 5% performance hit give or take. How that translates into FPS? Probably 2-3.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 06:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
I had x16/x4 CF... I went and spent the money to go x8/x8. It works, but you may notice a LOT of CPU overhead depending on your motherboard.
I have a Phenom II x4 955 at 3.2ghz..

what video cards did you have crossfired?

I am not going to buy a new mobo, getting my HSF for my CPU was a pain in the ass, it took like an hour!

Also do you mean my CPU will take a lot of the load and will be more used?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 06:53 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

doesn't more cpu overhead mean less of the cpu is used?

And are these opinions the same for sli Nvidia cards?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
doesn't more cpu overhead mean less of the cpu is used?

And are these opinions the same for sli Nvidia cards?
Yeah thats what I was thinking lol!

Maybe he got mixed up rofl.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:37 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I'm going back to 3870's on a P965 based mobo, x16 on the NB, x4 on the SB. (and SLI'd 6800's despite N's lack of support)

Since when did more mean less...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD9. 7 PCI-e X16. Jackquelegs Press Releases & Tech News 43 April 15, 2010 11:11 AM
PCI Express 2.0 vs x16 Mulder Video Cards 13 July 23, 2009 06:54 PM
Does the 9400 GT 1024MB PCI Express 2.0 work on PCI Express x16 slot? aleo Video Cards 9 June 8, 2009 05:47 PM
TV card looks wrong in PCI express x16 slot cappaj1 Video Cards 4 June 4, 2009 06:34 PM
PCI-E X16 and X1 question Toronto122 Troubleshooting 7 April 2, 2009 07:37 AM