Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 11:21 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default Running dual GPU in non SLI not worth it.

I recently installed a 570 GTX. I thought I'd keep one of my old 260's as a dedicated physx card. Turned off SLI (no option for it, removed the link), selected the 260 as the sole physx card. Also set it as the dedicated cuda gpu in 3d preferences.

I actually get a few fps less in benchmarks (Metro 2033, Just cause 2, 3dmark11,Crysis 2 mp)than I do with the just single 570. Even if I crank up the physx options where available.

The unigine Heaven benchmark really tanks with 2 cards, 42 fps with the 260 and 63fps without.

My guess is there is just too much bus overhead to make it worthwhile. The unigine bench is just plain confused.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 12:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I recently installed a 570 GTX. I thought I'd keep one of my old 260's as a dedicated physx card. Turned off SLI (no option for it, removed the link), selected the 260 as the sole physx card. Also set it as the dedicated cuda gpu in 3d preferences.

I actually get a few fps less in benchmarks (Metro 2033, Just cause 2, 3dmark11,Crysis 2 mp)than I do with the just single 570. Even if I crank up the physx options where available.

The unigine Heaven benchmark really tanks with 2 cards, 42 fps with the 260 and 63fps without.

My guess is there is just too much bus overhead to make it worthwhile. The unigine bench is just plain confused.
It's because you set CUDA to the 260 for all games. You can download the demo for Mafia 2 and run the benchmark tool in that game and you should see great fps increase with the PhysX option for the 260 compared to just the 570 doing all the work. Leave your CUDA setting alone and try benchmarking again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 03:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draemn View Post
It's because you set CUDA to the 260 for all games. You can download the demo for Mafia 2 and run the benchmark tool in that game and you should see great fps increase with the PhysX option for the 260 compared to just the 570 doing all the work. Leave your CUDA setting alone and try benchmarking again.
I agree. All the same, something about full PhysX on Mafia 2 seemed to sap my pc beyond the 512 8800gt I had thrown in as the dedicated card. My preference was to just play with the 470 alone and leave physx low.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 12:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwartz View Post
I agree. All the same, something about full PhysX on Mafia 2 seemed to sap my pc beyond the 512 8800gt I had thrown in as the dedicated card. My preference was to just play with the 470 alone and leave physx low.
The reason is that your 8800gt bottlenecks the 570. A GT 260 should not bottleneck at 570. Running a 8800gt with high physX is like running crysis on an intel core 2 duo @ 1.8 Ghz with a GTX 570.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 02:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwartz View Post
I agree. All the same, something about full PhysX on Mafia 2 seemed to sap my pc beyond the 512 8800gt I had thrown in as the dedicated card. My preference was to just play with the 470 alone and leave physx low.
8800GT sucks for a PhysX card.. Minimum you need a good 260 card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Dual Power Supplies CroSsFiRe2009 Power Supplies 25 October 8, 2010 10:16 AM
Problem Running Dual GPU Now lechumbl HardwareCanucks F@H Team 33 March 24, 2010 07:43 PM
Catalyst crash when running dual monitors jeep11 Troubleshooting 0 December 25, 2009 07:23 PM
Dual GPU Folding on one GPU (FahCore_14 only) geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 August 8, 2009 05:35 PM
micro PC Gaming for sale 1gb SLI GPU Dual core CPU Black - $650 luirhino Buy/Sell & Trade 6 September 12, 2008 06:00 PM