Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 04:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default How to connect HD6850 with Analog TV?

Hello.

I wish to connect my HD6850 Graphics card to my old 21.5" TV. The TV has analog TV aerial plug and 3 pin RCA connectors.







I wish to have both the Audio and Video from the TV. So what do I need to accomplish it? I think only HDMI is able to carry both audio-video signals. So will a cable with HDMI on one end and 3-pin RCA on the other end will give me Audio-Video from my TV? If not, then what else would I need?

Also, my card's one DVI is used by my PC monitor, so will it be able to use another port for connection? I have heard that some cards are incapable of using both DVI or one DVI and one HDMI at the same time?

My Specs:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Link
Motherboard: ASRock M3A785GXH Link
GPU: ASUS 1GB 256-bit Radeon HD 6850 DirectCU Link
RAM: Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 Link


Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 04:23 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

You could try this DVI to rca adapter: 3-RCA Component Female to DVI-I Male Adapter: Amazon.ca: Electronics
I have no experience with it so I don't know how well it would work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 04:42 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccm001 View Post
You could try this DVI to rca adapter: 3-RCA Component Female to DVI-I Male Adapter: Amazon.ca: Electronics
I have no experience with it so I don't know how well it would work.
That adapter would not work actually. I believe the OP was saying that the TV only has Coax and Composite connections, not component.

You may have able to use both a DVI -> VGA adapter then add a VGA -> Composite adapter after that but:
1 - Those adapters always seem to be troublesome to get to work, if they work at all
2 - Your maximum resolution will still only be 640x480, so it may not even be worth it


Maybe get a newer TV?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
That adapter would not work actually. I believe the OP was saying that the TV only has Coax and Composite connections, not component.
My bad, I see that now (red, blue, green component not standard rca), woops
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 12:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

You need a digital to analog convertor that supports down-scaling from HD to SD.

Something like this: HDMI / DVI to Composite & S-Video Converter but it's $300. You'd be far better off just buying a new TV with HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 10:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you for your replies. I guess that buying a new TV with HDMI will be the best option. But it is something I don't wish to do in the near future coz if I'm buying, I'd buy a 47" or bigger and I nether have money, nor space (as of now!) to accommodate it.

Thanks for the help though :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 10:53 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShahJahan View Post
Thank you for your replies. I guess that buying a new TV with HDMI will be the best option. But it is something I don't wish to do in the near future coz if I'm buying, I'd buy a 47" or bigger and I nether have money, nor space (as of now!) to accommodate it.

Thanks for the help though :)
You can get a 30-40" on sale for 250-400$ nowadays, LCDs are cheap as dirt as long as your willing to scarifiseminor quality diffrences
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 11:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
You can get a 30-40" on sale for 250-400$ nowadays, LCDs are cheap as dirt as long as your willing to scarifiseminor quality diffrences
I am considering that. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Upgrade - HD6850] I could use some advice again ArcherNemesis Video Cards 7 November 27, 2010 02:14 PM
Is analog going to be faded out? Slik Audio 15 November 13, 2010 11:04 AM
DVI or VGA ( analog ) botat29 Video Cards 2 October 22, 2010 11:16 AM
spdif in to analog 5.1 out? undacova Audio 5 August 10, 2009 10:35 AM
Xonar to Denon via analog? Cypher^64 Audio 6 November 4, 2008 03:10 PM