Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 11:57 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default Would EVGA know?

When I first received my SC GTX 275 I messed around and flashed it with FTW bios, didn't like the fan noise and stuff, so I flashed it back. What would happen if I send this card to EVGA 2 years later? Is my warranty void?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 11:59 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Technically yes, but Im not aware of any way they would know.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 12:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

As Eldonk said, modding the bios is not under there warranty but as far as I know, as long as you flash it back to the stock bios they have no way of knowing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 12:16 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

The problem is, when flashing you have to remove some kind of protection, this could be it

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 12:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if the cards a goner go for it.
if they beach, then use your piece (mouth) and give them a piece of your hart's malcontentness.

they will cave in.


edit : rmind me why the protect off? i usually dont use it and go old fashion, aka 'nvflash gt560new.rom'


:p
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 03:04 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post

edit : rmind me why the protect off? i usually dont use it and go old fashion, aka 'nvflash gt560new.rom'


:p
I don't know, I just followed the guides

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/24...s-modification
HOWTO: nVidia BIOS Flashing - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net


The card itself works well in games but when I use Photoshop and Aero it crashes after 10-15 minutes, the only way to use it is to run Windows basic theme. I tried changing OS, CPU/mobo, every possible driver, updating Photoshop but it still stops working causing me to lose work, so I started suspecting the card's hardware, it sounds like it physically chokes during crash, the puny 8400gs works fine though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 03:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

swap the power connector from the corsair psu

maybe its power related.

if you drop down clocks, does it still do it? load up furmark and see what gives.

it should freeze right away or almost. set fan manually to 70 percent. or more.



and as for the guide, if its the same bios/board then its fine.

from different cards yeah you got probably to force protection off.

anyway, i prefer to mod the original bios. send it to me and tell me what you need done with it

ill work on it and then you can give it a try. if it goes tots up? put it back and rma.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 03:15 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

I once sent an 6800 Vanilla to XFX that the bios stated 'lowfats super bios' when it posted.

They still RMA'd it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 03:16 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

hmm try flashing the card with a newer version of nvflash? that guide mention inserting a floppy disk lol.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 03:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

classic lowfat...

@vo : thats the best way to do it. i still have a usb floppy from some dude here, and a floppy
disk made aons ago. still works. got nvflash plus a gizillion bios roms ready for action :p

kids, always remember, if you flash the bios, do make sure you are connected to a ups.
even if it can only hold for a few mins,its ok, since the flash takes seconds.

also, when you use NiBiTor to mod the bios, make sure the green light for integrity check is lit at all times.
before you flash, check the overclock in windows.bios messages are cool, and while generally they mean no harm,
one in a million will have adverse affects on the functionality of the device.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Q9550,Evga 790i, 3x Evga GTX280 FrankyG Buy/Sell & Trade 8 October 7, 2010 02:19 AM
[FS] FS: EVGA GX2 + EVGA GTX260 + IOGear PC Portal Rison Buy/Sell & Trade 16 July 12, 2010 06:40 AM
Evga 8800 gt: Nvidia VS Evga drivers TwystedMonkey Video Cards 4 September 1, 2009 01:57 PM
VR-Zone & EVGA Forums - EVGA X58 SLI Classified - NF200 Monster! zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 26 March 19, 2009 06:05 PM
FS: EVGA GTX260 - EVGA 750i FTW kenken3686 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 2, 2008 07:28 PM