Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 07:21 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default 6950 size

i posted a different thread about the two different 6950's a few days ago but came up with a new question...size. i have a cm storm scout case and im worried that the reference version wont fit in it. so if any one knows if it will or not i would be great full to know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 07:26 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

It should 'just' fit. The 6950 referance edition was just about as big as my MAtrix 260. And that one was a bit of a squeeze in my Scout.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 08:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Scout - Cooler Master

CM Storm Scout Manual - Cooler Master

my bad, manual is crappy and website doesnt say..

reviews...


[Review] Cooler Master CM Scout - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

The case was slightly cramped when all was said and done but everything fit well enough. I would be wary though if you have an overly large video card. My 9800gtx barely fit into the case... and I mean BARELY. Anything larger than the 9800gtx might not fit.


Cooler Master Storm Scout Review Page 5 - Testing - Overclockers Club

Testing Setup:

Cooler Master Storm Scout Mid-Tower Case Review
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 08:39 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Its approx 0.7inches bigger than my 260 was in the Scout.

I am going to say, from what I've read thus far you might not get it in there. They call for 270mm max in there (my 260 was 267mm) and the XFX 6950 is 287mm. So I'm going to say you might need to consider another case.

I could be wrong, so please someone correct me if I am.
That being said, I know the 6950 fits in my TT Armor A90, so You could always get one of those. They are fairly cheap.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 08:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

or look towards the haf series, 912? you can remove the hdd cage so it fits anything :)

its either going to be metal on metal close or not gonna fit. as per above.

what gets to me is cm not putting it on there website in plain view, like silverstone

for exemple : SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration


Expansion Card 12.3"



HAF 912 - Cooler Master







Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 03:58 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Yeah but with that case Dan you have to remove the whole HDD cage so it fits. At least with the Armor A90 you can leave your whole cage in.

Just a Thought,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 09:20 AM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

well i was wondering maybe taking some heavy duty wire cutters and going to town on the hdd bay and 5 1/2 bay to get it in there.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 09:29 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

You're gonna have no choice if you want to use the case and card together I'm afraid. Or sell off the case and get the A90 :)

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 09:40 AM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

will the 1GB version fit with out any problems b/c i was also looking at at the xfx non-reference 1GB card
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 09:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Yeah but with that case Dan you have to remove the whole HDD cage so it fits. At least with the Armor A90 you can leave your whole cage in.

Just a Thought,

ST

you still have the secondary hdd cage on the bottom right there,
so unless you have 50 drives you're allright :)
i take em out asap even though its not needed. gives me more space
or elbow room :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which 6950? techman95 Video Cards 6 January 29, 2011 03:07 PM
6950 can still be had for ~$267 Phill Video Cards 41 January 8, 2011 04:39 PM
6950 dilemma Phill Video Cards 2 January 5, 2011 12:32 PM
AMD HD 6950 FPS Luay79 Video Cards 4 December 14, 2010 06:42 PM