Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 05:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default video card for 2 TVs

I have no clue what I am doing when looking at video cards, I'll be honest(clueless). This is what I want to do-I want to be able to have 2 of my TV's able to play from one computer. My one TV only has s-video and the other TV has HDMI, DVI, and s-video. I was wondering if I can buy just one video card or do I have to buy two, and also do I need a audio card as well?

Any suggestions towards what video card would be a bonus trying to keep a cheap budget if possible.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

I'm confused by what you even want to do..

Use 2 monitors on 1 pc for wat?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry for not being clear. I want to be able to watch a movie in either room I am in, whether it is my bedroom or the family room.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:12 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

S-Video shouldn't be used in this day in age at all. It's terrible.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Well the tv it is hooking up to is not the greatest either I have the choice of s video or rca hook up to it so I think the best option is s video, I do not really want to buy a new tv just to have a better connect for a tv I use in my bedroom.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:45 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

What is the proximity of your two rooms? There's a limit to the wire length, unless you have a signal booster. In terms of a card that can handle your TV's, I assume your S-Video TV has a resolution of 640x480 (or something low) and your HDMI TV is 720p to 1080p? In that case, you can go with almost any card above 4000 series from AMD or 200 series from Nvidia. You could even get away with less if all you're doing is watching video. Will you be doing any gaming?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 06:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

No, I won't be doing any gaming at all, those specs seem just about right. My TV distance between the two are about 25-30 feet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 07:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

No video card with HDMI has S-Video out. Likewise, no video card with S-Video out has HDMI out. Granted you could convert DVI to HDMI but you'd have no audio and have to run a separate cable. However to have the same video display on either TV, the one connected via HDMI/DVI would be running at 640x480 (or whatever resolution S-Video is) as it would be in "Clone" mode.

If both TVs had HDMI, then this would be quite simple. However, as it stands with your current TVs, I'd say not to bother.

Perhaps hookup the PC to the HDMI TV and buy one of those simple media player units that should have S-Video/RCA output for $100. It'll connect to your PC over the network and play the media as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 07:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Alright, thank you for all the help
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 07:32 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

I think you can just use the TV's as monitors and just 'extend desktops' to either one, depending on which one you use as your main, can't you? In that case, each resolution will be independent of each other. If you have an audio loop cable for the video card, you can get audio through HDMI via DVI port, correct? Either way, you'd need headphone jack -> Red/White component to get sound on the S-Video TV.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 receivers, 1 server, multiple PCs/TVs blaze_125 HTPC Systems & Software 12 January 20, 2011 06:40 AM
is there any Good Deals on 26-32" TVs Shadowmeph Display Units 3 October 23, 2010 06:23 PM
3D Visions on projectors/TVs? Lyxtwing Display Units 4 April 12, 2010 07:12 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 08:17 PM