Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I do not understand what you mean by extend desktops. I will try searching around to look in to that route.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 08:55 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,966

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
I think you can just use the TV's as monitors and just 'extend desktops' to either one, depending on which one you use as your main, can't you? In that case, each resolution will be independent of each other. If you have an audio loop cable for the video card, you can get audio through HDMI via DVI port, correct? Either way, you'd need headphone jack -> Red/White component to get sound on the S-Video TV.
He'd have to "drag" the video player onto either screen in that case. Might be slightly tricky if both screens aren't visible.

And I believe only ATI did audio through DVI to HDMI with their included adapters. Don't believe NVIDIA ever did, but I could be wrong. But like I said, any card that has some form of HDMI w/ audio support won't have S-Video that I'm aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Alright lets see if this situation will work. Hopefully I can get some feedback.
Most of the shows I watch on my computer are not hd, will getting a video card that has DVI and s-video output work?

Now the other problem that was stated earlier was that the resolution would only be able to be set at one type of format. Now there is a program I noticed on my search, it was called "Ultramon", it states that you are able to change multiple resolutions.

Would this work for my situation or am I just wanting too much out of nothing?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:27 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
And I believe only ATI did audio through DVI to HDMI with their included adapters.
It is correct that ATI did audio over HDMI with their included adapters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
But like I said, any card that has some form of HDMI w/ audio support won't have S-Video that I'm aware of.
This is wrong. My reference design Radeon HD 3850 has an svideo port between the two DVI connectors.(and does audio over HDMI with included adapter)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:52 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

And my 9600GT, 8800GS, and 4850 had a S-Video port between the DVI connectors.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2011, 10:15 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,966

My System Specs

Default

Haha, I thought s-video died a long time ago. I guess not then.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 receivers, 1 server, multiple PCs/TVs blaze_125 HTPC Systems & Software 12 January 20, 2011 07:40 AM
is there any Good Deals on 26-32" TVs Shadowmeph Display Units 3 October 23, 2010 07:23 PM
3D Visions on projectors/TVs? Lyxtwing Display Units 4 April 12, 2010 08:12 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 10:27 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 09:17 PM