Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:43 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default GTX260 pcie power connectors

The gtx260 has 2 power connectors.
My psu only has 1 pcie power connector, and plenty of unused molex. I went to the store to buy a molex to pcie adapter and was offered 2 options.

1. 1 molex to 1 pcie connector.
2. 2 molex to 1 pcie connector.

Which one was I supposed to get?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:57 AM
Exlibris's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montreal (NDG)
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Was the 1 molex to 1 pci-e only 6 pin pci-e or 6+2? How many pins do you need for the second power connector on the 260? Should you perhaps consider a better psu?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:59 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

The 260 should have 2x6 pin for power.

Myself personally I don't like using molex to pci-e power adapters but I do know that sometimes its all you got.

All you would have to pick up was a 2 molex to 6 pin pci-e adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 10:04 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Has enaberif said, the 260 has 2 connectors of 6 pins each.

The 1 molex to pcie was; 1 molex to 1 pcie(6 pins)
The 2 molex to pcie was; 2 molex to 1 pcie(6 pins)

Quote:
All you would have to pick up was a 2 molex to 6 pin pci-e adapter.
I'm glad I made the right decision. I picked up the 2to1.

I would have liked to get a better psu, but the difference between a new psu and the adapter is about 100$
I'm rocking a 500w OCZ psu if anyone is wondering. It's the modular type. And I got it from someone(lcdguy) very generous on this board about 2 years ago.

Last edited by blaze_125; January 28, 2011 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 10:14 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

The 2 molex to 1 pci-e allows the connect to pull power from 2 lines not just 1
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 10:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
The 2 molex to 1 pci-e allows the connect to pull power from 2 lines not just 1
Which means both options would have been good, but the 2to1 would offer more "stability"?
Does that mean I should connect each molex to 2 different rails?
I don't know if "rail" is the term I should have used... but you know... on the wires coming out of the PSU, 1 harness may have a bunch of molex, then another harness has another bunch of molex. Should I use 2 molex coming from the same harness, or 1 molex per harness?

Last edited by blaze_125; January 28, 2011 at 10:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 10:22 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
Which means both options would have been good, but the 2to1 would offer more "stability"?
Does that mean I should connect each molex to 2 different rails?
No the second option is better as the 1 molex to pci-e runs off 1 line not 2.
The 2 to 1 runs off two seperate lines which means your gonna plug the molex into or should be 2 separate molex lines.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 10:25 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
The 2 to 1 runs off two seperate lines which means your gonna plug the molex into or should be 2 separate molex lines.
Ok, I think that answers my ninja edit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:34 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

I don't know what video card you are upgrading from or what the rest of your system has maybe you check your requirements with the psu calculator

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator

A 500watt OCZ would make me a little nervous ...

Make sure to factor in at least 20% Capacitor Aging as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:44 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
Nice link.
It recommanded me 321w

The card will replace a 8800GT Alpha Dog in the rig linked to my profile.

E5200 @ 3.25ghz
4gigs DDR2
1 dvd drive
A few fans
2 HDD(1 sata, 1 ide)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused over 6pin and 8pin, and power capacity of pcie plugs 0o0 Power Supplies 7 February 1, 2010 02:58 AM
Not enough sata power connectors book0006 Storage 5 January 13, 2010 10:46 AM
PCIe slot power consumption? sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 66 January 12, 2010 07:53 PM
Custom sleeved 6 plug Pcie power cable Alwaysrun Power Supplies 2 May 17, 2009 05:37 PM
Power Connectors tim333 New Builds 4 April 9, 2009 09:56 AM