Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
I don't know what video card you are upgrading from or what the rest of your system has maybe you check your requirements with the psu calculator

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator

A 500watt OCZ would make me a little nervous ...

Make sure to factor in at least 20% Capacitor Aging as well.
PSU Calculators are total junk and not reliable at all.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 12:57 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
Nice link.
It recommanded me 321w

The card will replace a 8800GT Alpha Dog in the rig linked to my profile.

E5200 @ 3.25ghz
4gigs DDR2
1 dvd drive
A few fans
2 HDD(1 sata, 1 ide)
Fine to use it as a guide ... nothing more.

Since your psu is like 2 or 3 years old and only 500watts it proably doesn't have a single rail for the 12V. Depending on how you hook everything up ... you can overload one rail without overloading the entire psu. That in part is what makes the 312w recommendation unreliable.

Single rail on the 12V is the way to go ...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 02:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

we talking about modxtream?

should be fine all stock running.

although id keep my nose on it, just in case.

i dont remember if they used the same oem for all of them, since some blew nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:24 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

I was under the impression it was an ocz psu, but it's actually Antec.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

with that I'd grab the 2 molex to 1 pci-e and plug a molex to a seperate rail (harness as you mentioned) each to help balance out the load on the rails
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
with that I'd grab the 2 molex to 1 pci-e and plug a molex to a seperate rail (harness as you mentioned) each to help balance out the load on the rails
Actually, I just checked Antec's website and I may just buy another connector. I think I have 2 empty outputs in the back of my psu.
Antec.com - Product: PCI-E MODULAR CABLE

Last edited by blaze_125; January 28, 2011 at 09:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

thats an older unit, not sure on rail distribution could actually be just one fat one...let me see..

you wouldnt have a kill a watt or something to check juice at the wall do you?

i always check on a new build, and of course look for idle. if anything strange

pops up, aka bigger numbers than expected, i tear it down on the spot.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 09:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
thats an older unit, not sure on rail distribution could actually be just one fat one...let me see..

you wouldnt have a kill a watt or something to check juice at the wall do you?

i always check on a new build, and of course look for idle. if anything strange

pops up, aka bigger numbers than expected, i tear it down on the spot.
How old is the key. I would spend $75 to $100 and get a new power supply. No headaches after that. XFX ones go on sale fairly often.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:39 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I've run 2 GTX 260's off a 500 watt Antec (using 2 molex to pci-e adapters) without any issues... So I think you should be fine. Total system draw while folding on both cards was only around 360 watts IIRC.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 11:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yes, it could be a 5 year old model, maybe 3 years or so on the shelf+working.

earthwatts can pack a punch.

one 260 at full load should pull maybe 150-160 watts on the 12v.

of course furmark will add a percentage, good numbers to keep an eye on

if you want to play it safe


Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti Sonic 1 GB Review - Page 26/32 | techPowerUp
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused over 6pin and 8pin, and power capacity of pcie plugs 0o0 Power Supplies 7 February 1, 2010 02:58 AM
Not enough sata power connectors book0006 Storage 5 January 13, 2010 10:46 AM
PCIe slot power consumption? sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 66 January 12, 2010 07:53 PM
Custom sleeved 6 plug Pcie power cable Alwaysrun Power Supplies 2 May 17, 2009 05:37 PM
Power Connectors tim333 New Builds 4 April 9, 2009 09:56 AM