Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 09:14 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Where's my vid card stand vs upgrading?

Seems like forever ago I made my sig but I'm STILL running the comp in my sig. I kinda game in fits and spurts, usually during the winter months when it's too cold to woodwork out in the garage, so I have some games to catch up on this year. I want to get the new COD and look into SC2 as well, possibly others. I still have a GTX 280 and am considering an upgrade, but I'm sort of looking for a reference point. Obviously the new hardware is going to be an upgrade but how much? I don't want to buy a new card just to find out its more of a 'sidegrade'.

If I were to make a move I'd prefer to go with an ATI. I'm not a fanboy but they seem to run AutoCAD MUCH better than the nVidia's without getting into specialized cards. The 6850's and 6870's are certainly within reach but are they a significant increase over what I have now to justify the cost?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water

Last edited by biff; January 19, 2011 at 09:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 09:23 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I can tell you about the 6870. I absolutely love the card, typically i am running it crossfire eyefinity however with my motherboard on rma i am using an e6400 that only has one pci-e slot. This means i'm running eyefinity on one 6870 and it still runs great. Highly recommend the card as an upgrade from the 280 as it'll give you more horsepower as well as DX11.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 10:52 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

My personal opinion - if the 280 still does the job, keep it.
About COD & SC2, I've ran them beautifully on my friend's rig with a 260(at 1920/1200), so if your other programs run fine, and you work on lower resolutions than 2650/1920, upgrading would seem as a bit of a waste.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 11:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

COD and SC2? No need to upgrade. Also no need to upgrade for many other games. If you plan on catching up on titles released over the past few years, more reason not to upgrade.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 02:55 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
I want to get the new COD
Well, sorry for you...it's crap. I regret buying it. Lots of servers on both the PC and console versions of the game are CRASHING...Treyarch/Activision/Gameservers.com haven't been honest enough to come out and tell everybody that they're conscious and they'll fix it.

On top of that, there is mappack coming up, and they'll charge the PC gamers $15 for the maps...no more free maps for Call of duty(even for the PC version)!!!!

Your system is MORE THAN ENOUGH to play Blackops...don't upgrade for that!

Proof!!!!!!!!

Contemporary Graphics Cards in Call of Duty: Black Ops

Contemporary Graphics Cards in Call of Duty: Black Ops - X-bit labs
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 04:30 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

On the subject of COD, I second Delavan's opinion, I think MW - WaW - MW2 were MUCH better...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 06:47 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,083

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Seems like forever ago I made my sig but I'm STILL running the comp in my sig. I kinda game in fits and spurts, usually during the winter months when it's too cold to woodwork out in the garage, so I have some games to catch up on this year. I want to get the new COD and look into SC2 as well, possibly others. I still have a GTX 280 and am considering an upgrade, but I'm sort of looking for a reference point. Obviously the new hardware is going to be an upgrade but how much? I don't want to buy a new card just to find out its more of a 'sidegrade'.

If I were to make a move I'd prefer to go with an ATI. I'm not a fanboy but they seem to run AutoCAD MUCH better than the nVidia's without getting into specialized cards. The 6850's and 6870's are certainly within reach but are they a significant increase over what I have now to justify the cost?
If I were you I would stay with Nvidia. The 280 GTX is an excellent card and should do you well until the prices of the 500 series drop a bit. The reviews I have read say that the 500 series card kicks the crap out of Radeon high end cards. IMHO.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 06:56 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Well, sorry for you...it's crap. I regret buying it.
Well that's disappointing!!

Thanks for the advice. I'll sit tight on the 280 for now. Maybe I'll clock it up a bit.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 07:56 AM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Well that's disappointing!!

Thanks for the advice. I'll sit tight on the 280 for now. Maybe I'll clock it up a bit.
stick with what you have now for a bit longer and buy the 6990 when it comes out
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 08:10 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

PSM was the other way around for Black Ops. They said it was the best CoD game to date, even better than MW. Of course, everyone is subject to their own opinion.

@OP. You're running a GTX 280... I'm running at 9600GT. No need for you to upgrade lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to upgrade my second vid card biff Video Cards 1 February 26, 2010 01:06 PM
what vid card should I get? omgwtf Video Cards 17 December 15, 2008 05:34 PM
What card will stand the test of time. Skyllz Video Cards 5 October 3, 2008 01:46 PM
Upgrading issues, what vid card, cpu?! Andy New Builds 10 September 24, 2008 11:43 PM
new vid card cmac79 Video Cards 3 July 29, 2008 11:39 AM