Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 09:26 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default ASUS 3-slots Direct CU 6970...

Howdy,

Who's gonna fork the money for that card? I mean compared to the GTX570, which is performing equal and costs less?

From TPU:

ASUS Shows Off Humongous Radeon HD 6970 DirectCu II Graphics Card | techPowerUp


Well, 4 full-size DP ports...eyefinity buffs...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 09:36 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

I don't see why they saw the need to move away from mini DisplayPort.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 10:40 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Do you still need adaptors of some sort if you use the full-sized to make eyefinity to work?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 10:46 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

No. But every other ATI card has used mini DisplayPort. So if someone were to upgrade to this card they would need new a DisplayPort cable.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 01:03 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Is there any more bandwidth to be had from full sized DisplayPort inputs? Also, could someone give an example of an Eyefinity setup you can do with this card that you could not do with a normal 6970?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 01:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

Nope. Mini DisplayPort is exactly the same as a full sized DisplayPort except for it being half the size.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] LGA775 mobo with 2 PCI-e slots ADay2Long Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 9, 2010 09:28 AM
Asus Direct CU Cooling SGardiner Video Cards 0 April 18, 2010 05:36 AM
Which slots to put in? chang2 RAM 3 September 27, 2009 07:35 AM
Which slots do I place it? AmuseMe RAM 11 August 11, 2009 05:27 PM
Dimm Slots enaberif Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 10, 2007 01:23 PM