Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 02:51 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806

My System Specs

Default

Very nice Bob!...thats the way to do it .....now if only you were watercooled you probably would break 60k easy
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:08 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yeah your right Bob......as soon as I go over 900 Mhz its 50/50 whether I get through the run or not.....I'll probably get everything ready and try for "high run" tomorrow....think I'll try the new Beta Driver as well..

Quote:
Is that a TRUE on your cpu?
Correct, that is a TRUE (push / pull).....the Case is getting old now....but still so functuional, maybe next time I do a complete strip I'll throw some some black paint in the interior.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:09 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

That is pretty awesome! Me so wants!

He doesn't need to water cool the GPU's as they are already cool enough. Remember he still has 25 more degrees of room. The CPU he could water cool and maybe get more out of it to break the 60k score.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:36 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806

My System Specs

Default

^^ thats true, I tend to forget they run alot cooler, me thinks its time for a voltage bump to break that 900 mark. WC'ing the CPU would help, maybe you should consider doing a ghetto outside the case CPU loop, pick up some used parts from here and give it a go
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:44 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

I agree with others saying you should at least WC the cpu as long as you stayed with the same chipset, and when you upgrade just buy the replacement backplate. You could push that cpu more and get even higher score.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 05:59 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yup water cool the bad ass 980x. very nice rj
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 06:31 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I'm actually planning a 2nd build (with used parts), so the 3rd 580 will likely go into that build.........thanks for the comments guys !!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:29 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

If you are lazy like me the H70 is pretty nice.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 10:02 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Actually the H70 isn't any better than a TRUE (push / pull config)....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 11:06 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

how about phase change machine? a guy at here is selling one...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCIX Aberdeen MADNESS Perineum Off Topic 40 November 18, 2009 06:51 PM
HL2 Madness SuperFriedFish Gaming 7 March 17, 2009 10:09 PM
Ableton DJ Road mix machine Madness 2.0!! Cptn Vortex Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 January 17, 2008 12:58 AM
Moduslink madness! Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 June 3, 2007 02:04 PM