Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 01:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default GTX 460 + 4870 for driving three separate monitors?

I was wondering if it was possible use a 4870 and a GTX 460 to handle three monitors? this is not for eyeinfinity or 3D vision, i just wanna be able to use my two main monitors along with a 40" HDTV for movies.

so yeah, would this be possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 01:30 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I don't think it is possible. You must have a Nvidia card with Nvidia card in order to do that.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 01:41 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

To my knowledge it is not possible
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

damn, alright thanks for your help.

I was planning on going sli anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you must set one card to be the main one, than extend desktop to the other monitors...hmm...i usually do it with onboard(ati,intel,nv...) to browse/play movies while the other cards fold etc

usually you got to play with bios settings a bit, like pci first or pci-e 1/peg 1 first and so on
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 03:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
you must set one card to be the main one, than extend desktop to the other monitors...hmm...i usually do it with onboard(ati,intel,nv...) to browse/play movies while the other cards fold etc

usually you got to play with bios settings a bit, like pci first or pci-e 1/peg 1 first and so on

wait so it is possible?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 03:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

in theory,yup. like i said i mainly do it with onboard gpu, some will debate that but its still a gpu :D

with intel graphics its more of a pain, best luck i had is with amd ones.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 04:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

I can now confirm it works! didn't have do anything difficult either. just installed and bam, detected.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 04:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver (GVR)
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

I think it might work. However for me same as other people, I only tested that using the onboard video. I think as long as you install the secondary video card as just a video output that should be fine. Just a little time for the right settings.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 04:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

now the hard part might be switching between them when one or both are working. if the drivers not up to it itll freeze and youll get a reboot and or freeze and you manually reboot :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 05:43 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM
4870 to gtx 460 or 465 lanken123 Video Cards 7 July 25, 2010 06:00 AM