Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 03:37 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

What I've read (or little that I read) and my opinion on this is that if you unlock your 6950 to 6970, it'd be wise not to overclock it because the card is binned as a 6950 for a reason.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 04:05 PM
Astaroth's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 163

My System Specs

Default

There's a big discussion about damaged 6950 unlocks on techpowerup: Poll: What caused your flashed 6950 permanent damage? - techPowerUp! Forums

According to current polls cards with 6970 BIOS with matching 6970 clocks is most likely to get damaged.
There's at least one reported failure with just 6950 BIOS, enabled shaders, and stock clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 05:35 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
The only thing I had in the back of mind when I went to unlock was all the people on the NCIX forums requesting RMA for their 465GTX's that Linus flashed to 470's.
lol I was thinking the same...I'm sure Linus won't get involved in that sort of stuff anymore...it was interesting, and sponsored by MSI, but in the end, it was a comedy to see the cards falling in battle one by one.

I'm really interested into the HD69** in crossfire....but if I want 6970's I'll wait for the price to drop...it will I'm pretty sure....AMD/ATI is not on top this time, and I don't think there will be a shortage of 6970, like back in the 5870 days...

That being said, 6950's in crossfire are pretty interesting too.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 05:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

all ive flashed so far i kept stock 6950 clocks,no failures. so far :) but furmark/3dmark looping for a day..or two and no issue? i call it a success :)
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 07:36 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

I unlocked the shaders on my XFX 6950 (modded 6950 BIOS) and have it overclocked at the 6970 speeds and haven't had any issues so far and I've been running like this for a few weeks.
The card did artifact when using the 6970 BIOS, which is why I went through the modded 6950 BIOS route only. I've done unigine tests, furmark stress testing and gaming without any issues so far...

Last edited by Eluder; January 18, 2011 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 09:35 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
I unlocked the shaders on my XFX 6950 (modded 6950 BIOS) and have it overclocked at the 6970 speeds and haven't had any issues so far and I've been running like this for a few weeks.
The card did artifact when using the 6970 BIOS, which is why I went through the modded 6950 BIOS route only. I've done unigine tests, furmark stress testing and gaming without any issues so far...

Where did you guys got the modded 6950 bios?
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 10:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Where did you guys got the modded 6950 bios?
techPowerUp! Forums - View Single Post - How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 04:53 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 989

My System Specs

Default

What are you guys using to overvolt the core? Haven't found anything solid yet besides "use the ASUS BIOS and software".
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 05:22 AM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

Anyone able to flash their cards in crossfire? I tried using ATIWinFlash from a command prompt but both cards show 1408 shaders. Before I installed my second card I unlocked the HIS 6950 with a modded 6950 bios and GPU-Z was reporting the shader unlock. Since adding in my second card GPU-z won't show the unlocked shaders. Just wonder if there is a best way to flash both cards for crossfire.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 05:57 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

You have to flash card by card, so remove the card that's already been flashed, do the second one, then plug both back in for CF.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlock AND overclock at the same time??? cul8erppl Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 June 11, 2011 08:06 AM
GTX570 or HD6970 ? Help me decide please. THS Video Cards 9 December 25, 2010 09:36 AM
Gtx 580 sli vs hd6970 crossfire for 2560x1600 prolymphocyte Video Cards 22 December 19, 2010 10:13 AM
AMD HD6970 pictured... Delavan Rumor Mill 58 December 15, 2010 05:28 AM
AMD unlock phil3_66666 CPU's and Motherboards 5 November 17, 2009 05:46 PM