Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2011, 11:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Finally had some time to play with my XFX HD6950 2GB.
Unlocked flawlessly using the XFX 6970 BIOS on TPU.

The card is much hotter and noisy compared to my 5850 but bang for buck it's something I'll deal with. Guess this means I can turn my radiator fans up some :)


__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2011, 11:57 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you using +10/20% ? check fps vs a stock 6970 to be sure ;)
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2011, 12:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Yes, bumped up Powertune to +20%. Ran the Unigine benchmark and it looks so smooth on this unlocked 6950 compared to the 5850.

__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 07:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

I received my first HD6950 today and processed to flash it. I've tried a full HD6970 bios but had issues w/ display driver crashing. So I moved to an HD6950 bios that has had its shaders unlocked, otherwise stock clocks/timings. So far so good.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 03:05 PM
Astaroth's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 164

My System Specs

Default

HIS Intros Radeon HD 6950 1 GB Fan Edition Graphics Card | techPowerUp

1GB 6950's are headed to the market. If you want an unlockable 2GB model act now.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2011, 03:12 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astaroth View Post
HIS Intros Radeon HD 6950 1 GB Fan Edition Graphics Card | techPowerUp

1GB 6950's are headed to the market. If you want an unlockable 2GB model act now.
I haven't read anywhere that the 1GB cards will be for sure locked.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:27 PM
Astaroth's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 164

My System Specs

Default

That's true. More and more users with 6950's are reporting damage from their unlocks. So it might not be such the wisest idea in the first place. I'm letting other users be the canary in the coal mine for me . The only thing I had in the back of mind when I went to unlock was all the people on the NCIX forums requesting RMA for their 465GTX's that Linus flashed to 470's.

The RAM they used in these 2GB 6950 is real sensitive. First sign of artifacting can mean the end of your card, even if you reverse all the changes. Also note that 6970 uses a 6pin and a 8pin connector, where as the the 6950 uses only 2 6pins. 6970 has that little bit of extra power going to it, and perhaps that's what's really needed for indefinite shader/clock stability.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astaroth View Post
That's true. More and more users with 6950's are reporting damage from their unlocks. So it might not be such the wisest idea in the first place. I'm letting other users be the canary in the coal mine for me . The only thing I had in the back of mind when I went to unlock was all the people on the NCIX forums requesting RMA for their 465GTX's that Linus flashed to 470's.

The RAM they used in these 2GB 6950 is real sensitive. First sign of artifacting can mean the end of your card, even if you reverse all the changes. Also note that 6970 uses a 6pin and a 8pin connector, where as the the 6950 uses only 2 6pins. 6970 has that little bit of extra power going to it, and perhaps that's what's really needed for indefinite shader/clock stability.
I dont think theres any difference in power between 6 pin and 8 pin on most power supplies is there? The 2 extra pins are grounded...
And I've read 2 stories on the Ram, one story they are exactly the same Ram and one they are different. Not sure which is correct. My 6950 unlocked in a matter of seconds runs just fine with the full 6970 bios. Guess time will tell...
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 01:53 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astaroth View Post
That's true. More and more users with 6950's are reporting damage from their unlocks. So it might not be such the wisest idea in the first place. I'm letting other users be the canary in the coal mine for me . The only thing I had in the back of mind when I went to unlock was all the people on the NCIX forums requesting RMA for their 465GTX's that Linus flashed to 470's.

The RAM they used in these 2GB 6950 is real sensitive. First sign of artifacting can mean the end of your card, even if you reverse all the changes. Also note that 6970 uses a 6pin and a 8pin connector, where as the the 6950 uses only 2 6pins. 6970 has that little bit of extra power going to it, and perhaps that's what's really needed for indefinite shader/clock stability.
You could just leave the memory clocks stock though and still unlock the shaders. My Sapphire HD6950 unlocked great and is currently running @ 925/1350 w/ 1.2Vgpu. Hopefully the HIS one I have coming on Tuesday will unlock as well.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2011, 02:35 PM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

I just unlocked my HIS 6950 (Shaders only modded 6950 bios unlock). It worked flawlessley I have not tried oc'ing the card yet. I have a second HIS coming as well should be fun to see how they do :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlock AND overclock at the same time??? cul8erppl Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 June 11, 2011 09:06 AM
GTX570 or HD6970 ? Help me decide please. THS Video Cards 9 December 25, 2010 10:36 AM
Gtx 580 sli vs hd6970 crossfire for 2560x1600 prolymphocyte Video Cards 22 December 19, 2010 11:13 AM
AMD HD6970 pictured... Delavan Rumor Mill 58 December 15, 2010 06:28 AM
AMD unlock phil3_66666 CPU's and Motherboards 5 November 17, 2009 06:46 PM