Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:11 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default GTX 580 overclocking

Whats the highest safe clocks you guys have gotten sofar?

Im currently at 850/1700/2200
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 09:15 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
Whats the highest safe clocks you guys have gotten sofar?

Im currently at 850/1700/2200
All depends on temps. I was hitting about 80c at 875, and needed more voltage to go higher, however my temps went up quite a bit by doing so.

Now that I'm on water, I'm doing 975Mhz @ 1.138v at a chilly 55c full PC load folding SMP and GPU3
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 10:40 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
All depends on temps. I was hitting about 80c at 875, and needed more voltage to go higher, however my temps went up quite a bit by doing so.

Now that I'm on water, I'm doing 975Mhz @ 1.138v at a chilly 55c full PC load folding SMP and GPU3
Lol I hit 53 in my meatfreezer of a basement at my clocks. Folded all night aswell there sag, my first all night run, had to stop thismorning to try BFBC2: Vietnam with 3D tho xD
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 10:53 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,801

My System Specs

Default

2 x 580 SC's

Stock Voltage 1.081v
900 / 2150
Idle: 27 - 30C (Fan @ 50%)
Load: 68 - 70C (Fan @ 75%)

Voltage 1.138v
950 / 2150
Idle 30C (Fan @ 50% )
Load 74C (Fan @ 75%)

For Air Cooling I've found the Load Temps are amazing,,,above Load temps are Extreme only, for Gaming Crysis / Metro the Lad Temps are about 5-7C cooler :)

Quote:
I was hitting about 80c at 875
I haven't seen anywhere near this, my 480's topped out at about 80C...you must havehad your Fan Control on "Auto"....?,,,,,,

With tha said I have seen some reporting high temps with these....perhaps I got lucky with mine ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 11:08 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Gotta set up your own fan profile, I got a nice aggressive one going, same one from my 480 actualy. Will try your clocks, but all cards are different...

RJ you make me jelous... Hopefully I get my other 580 in a month or two (527th in line), then I can Mac out metro on 3D :)
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:03 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
RJ you make me jelous... Hopefully I get my other 580 in a month or two (527th in line), then I can Mac out metro on 3D :)
Metro - I still have DOF (Depth of Field) "off", as even with 2 x 580's @ 2560 x 1440, turning it on results in slow downs.....everything else cranked.

You'll have to make sure your running those 2 x 580's at AT LEAST 24" 1920 x 1200...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:09 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Metro - I still have DOF (Depth of Field) "off", as even with 2 x 580's @ 2560 x 1440, turning it on results in slow downs.....everything else cranked.

You'll have to make sure your running those 2 x 580's at AT LEAST 24" 1920 x 1200...
Sadly for3D vision I have a 23" 1920x1080 monitor (haven't seen a 16:10 120Hz locally)

I'd have liked a ultrasharp but I don't have 1500, and where I sit 30 inch would be bigger then the table!
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 580 Backplates ! rjbarker Video Cards 35 January 5, 2011 09:15 PM
Overclocking the ASUS GTX 580 Voltage Tweak Edition Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 45 December 24, 2010 04:47 PM