Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:44 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default Cutting it Close for GTX 470 SLI?

So in the new year, I'm aiming to jump onto the nVidia Surround wagon. However, having poked around, I'm reading some conflicting opinions and information on whether or not my Corsair 750TX would handle a pair of GTX 470's. From what I've seen on charts, including the one from HWC's 470 SLI review, a pair of 470's can pull about 540/560 watts on load, leaving ≅ 190w for my system, which has a mildly overclocked 955, soundcard and a couple HD's.

Right now, my 470 runs at 800/1600/1950 at 1.087v so naturally, I'd be aiming to eek out similar numbers from a second 470, which would really drive up the wattage. Tweaktown's chart pegs two OC'd 470's at 777 watts, so perhaps I'd be in way over my head.

Any input or first hand experience would be appreciated.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 12:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

HIS Radeon HD 6970 2 GB Review - Page 27/33 | techPowerUp

im thinking 400-450 wtih oc onthe gpus..you should be fine.

the psu wont blow if you load it up

Corsair TX750W Power Supply Review | Hardware Secrets
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 05:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

SLI GTX470 is tight but might be ok. I think gtx 460 is fine and in fact what I plan to do on that PSU ;)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 12:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,222

My System Specs

Default

I'm not a huge fan of pushing your PSU to your limit like that. Having o/c GTX 470 SLI + o/c CPU + 30-40w per HDD + rest of system will be cutting it close. I'd be comfortable if you didn't o/c your GTX 470s. You really should have 850w at a minimum for what you suggest.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2010, 09:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

From personal experience i found that 2 MSI 465 GEs, which are essentially 2 470s (as they were flashed and running as such) had no problems running on my psu which was exactly what you are using along with a i7 940 overclocked to 3.8GHz. I could never really overclock them due to the poor air flow my case had which would cause the primary card to overheat and artifact quickly on air.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 06:53 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for replies. I'm still on the fence, although the overload figures in dangtx's are a bit of a relief. However, numbers from Anand's neck of the woods, and an independent test on Overclock.net have SLI'd 470's pegged at about 730/740 watts; granted, those are based on numbers generated from Furmark or 3Dmark benching, but if I'm aiming to push a 4800x900 resolution, the cards will be working pretty hard.

I'm in no rush, so I'll see how power supply, or even AMD 6xxx-series prices fare on Boxing Day, and into the new year.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 06:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

when a good manufacturer makes a decent unit, there is always a little bit of overhead, in this case a bit more.

i had the 750 pcpower and cooling, and i can put my hand in fire that its a restickied 800 something.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:19 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Well so far, both 470's at 1087mV, and 800/1600/1950 haven't caused my Corsair 750 to go up in smoke while running the Heaven Benchmark, so things should be A-OK! Thanks for all the help!
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 08:18 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

IMO a corsair tx750 will have no issues with your setup. If you had a crap quality psu then it would be a different story.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 09:05 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
HIS Radeon HD 6970 2 GB Review - Page 27/33 | techPowerUp

im thinking 400-450 wtih oc onthe gpus..you should be fine.

the psu wont blow if you load it up

Corsair TX750W Power Supply Review | Hardware Secrets
You relise he wants to do Nvidia 3D surround, yes? So uh, ATI may be out of the question.

On a side note id recommend trying it, the stuff you can sneak out of corsair PSU's...


Quote:
Originally Posted by DokkRokken View Post
Well so far, both 470's at 1087mV, and 800/1600/1950 haven't caused my Corsair 750 to go up in smoke while running the Heaven Benchmark, so things should be A-OK! Thanks for all the help!
Bump that memory up to 2000Mhz Gotta have then nice clean numbers
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 580 or 470 sli for 3d vision Battery Video Cards 8 November 12, 2010 11:02 PM
Is nVidia GTX 470 a better choice than a ATI Radeon 5850 when used in SLI/Crossfire? kendrab Video Cards 9 November 8, 2010 01:49 PM
Comment Thread for NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 SLI Review SKYMTL Video Cards 48 April 19, 2010 01:49 PM
GTX 295 and GTX 285 Very Close zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 22 December 11, 2008 09:30 AM