Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 05:54 AM
Logger's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CHilliwack, 60 miles east of Vancouver.
Posts: 24
Question Sli Evga GeForce GTX 570

I have been out of world since a little ladder accident last Dec 23 2010. So if my questions sound stupid, they no doubtedly are. Can I Sli 2 Evga GTX 570's with my 1000 corsair modular psu. I couldn't not find a GTX580, so would 2 GTX570's rock my world. (THe Doors, Led Zepplin, Janice and Jimi Hendrix). I have 1 Evga 570Gtx in hand from NCIX and I can pick up another today. THanks and Merry Christmas all

Logger

PS and if it all works I will pass the 280 along to my bro.
__________________
CPU---Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.7GHz, 1.28V,
Mobo--ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58,
Ram---Corsair XMS3 Dominator TR3X6G1600C8D3X2GB, DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24,
GFX---BFG GTX 280,
HDD---2xWD 300GB Velociraptors, Raid0,
PSU---Corsair HX 1000W, modular,
Case--Mountain Mod U2-UFO, Black Powder Coat,
Sound-Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Gamer,
LCD---Samsung T260 25.5IN-1920X1200,
WaterCooling-Parts--MCP655 Pump,Thermochill 120.3 Rad, D-TekFuzion Cpu Block,
GPU waterblock EVGA GTX 280 Hydro Copper.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 06:03 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

youll be fine. they wont burst your psu, you got room to spare :)

HIS Radeon HD 6970 2 GB Review - Page 27/33 | techPowerUp
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 06:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default

with a 1000w psu you'll be fine... that'll be some sick graphics you'll be getting though!! :P
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 07:07 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

That PSU will give you TRI-SLI if needed. Its a solid Unit.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 07:15 AM
Bao Bao is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Default

Hehe, just an aside, looks like you are going to be injured 6 days from now.

In all seriousness, more than enough power for the dual 570's.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 07:48 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Strap in and Hang on, Cause those card will destroy your 280.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 11:15 AM
Logger's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CHilliwack, 60 miles east of Vancouver.
Posts: 24
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Strap in and Hang on.
Thanks for the advice All.
I will install a seatbelt and wear a Hardhat with a chin strap

Logger
__________________
CPU---Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.7GHz, 1.28V,
Mobo--ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58,
Ram---Corsair XMS3 Dominator TR3X6G1600C8D3X2GB, DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24,
GFX---BFG GTX 280,
HDD---2xWD 300GB Velociraptors, Raid0,
PSU---Corsair HX 1000W, modular,
Case--Mountain Mod U2-UFO, Black Powder Coat,
Sound-Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Gamer,
LCD---Samsung T260 25.5IN-1920X1200,
WaterCooling-Parts--MCP655 Pump,Thermochill 120.3 Rad, D-TekFuzion Cpu Block,
GPU waterblock EVGA GTX 280 Hydro Copper.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 02:15 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ As ST mentioned...your HX 1kW will handle Tri SLi 570's and your CPU OC........enjoy !!!

PS Work on that I7 920 and see if you can get it to 3.8 - 4 Ghz !!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2010, 03:44 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

I had 2 570s on the same PSU, its fine.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 82 December 14, 2010 07:50 PM
NVIDIA Releases GeForce GTX 570 Graphics Card & Press Release Roundup FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 7, 2010 12:59 PM
GeForce GTX 480 Supports 4-way SLI? MonsterSound Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 8, 2010 12:25 PM