Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 01:47 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default Physic on a crossfire MB

Ok Folks, just want to check some facts with you here.

The MB I am using is not SLI capable but can support Xfire. Obviously, I can't run an SLI setup but I should still be able to run an Nvidia GPU + a physic card right ?

Also, when using a second card as physic, no SLI bridge is required right ?

I am planning on using a GTX460 as my main GPU and a 8800 GT as physic. I think this would make a good match, what do you think ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 01:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you try the driver thingie and it tells you sli ok? get a second card

else yeah you can use the gt for physx
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 02:15 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

It will work just fine. I've used a few combo's of cards without a problem, most recently a 4870+gts250, a gts 250+9800gt as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 06:41 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AstonM View Post
It will work just fine. I've used a few combo's of cards without a problem, most recently a 4870+gts250, a gts 250+9800gt as well.
To use an ATI GPU with a Nivdia physic you must have used hacked drivers yes ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 06:46 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

I used to use a r3850+gf9600 then r5750+gf9600 and now I am using a gfGTX460+gf9600 with my AMD mobo&CPU. Works fine.
*IF* you are using an ATI card as your primary, read below.
Hybrid PhysX mod v1.03 / v1.04ff

*IF* you are using an nvidia card as your primary, you do not have to do anything but set the card you want as the physx card in the nvidia control panel.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 06:54 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,810

My System Specs

Default

imho.....I cannot see the 8800 GT provided anything but a headache trying to use it to carry PhysX in game.....for games such as Metro33 or Mafia II forgetaboutit.......even Batman AA recommends a GTX 260 for dedicated PhysX.......go for it, don't expect your PhysX capable games suddenly come to life with that GPU.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 07:05 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

RJ, that is not an option for some people but they would prefer at least mild physx with their existing hardware than none at all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 07:46 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

Physx should work fine on that board. I am running 2x 5870s and a GTS450 for physx with no problems using the hybrid driver tweak.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 09:24 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

You don't need SLI for physx. You also don't need the SLI bridge in.

I agree with RJ that the 8800 GT is a bit weak for physx. So you wont be able to max out physx on games like Batman AA but it will run at medium physx.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 12:28 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
for games such as Metro33 or Mafia II forgetaboutit.......even Batman AA recommends a GTX 260 for dedicated PhysX.......go for it, don't expect your PhysX capable games suddenly come to life with that GPU.
I just ran through the Mafia II demo (yeahyeah, demo, not real thing, different, w/e) and with my 9600GSO doing PhysX with the PhysX set to high in the game(and a GTX460 as primary card) I was seeing during the active scenes low 60% to mid 70% usage on the 9600GSO.
When running the benchmark the utilization being reported was lower at around low 50s to mid 60s.

Now, I do not know how an 8800GT compares to this 9600GSO for PhysX specifically, but I would be tempted to say that in the case of Mafia II unless the full version is capable of an even higher setting that an 8800GT or 9600GSO would do PhysX just fine. For future games you would certainly want to get a better card. I have of course not tried out metro 2033 or batman aa yet. Perhaps tomorrow.

Last edited by MacJunky; December 9, 2010 at 12:37 AM. Reason: typo >_>
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire??? bvsbutthd101 Video Cards 10 December 2, 2010 06:29 PM
Enough for crossfire? CanadianZX Power Supplies 11 June 20, 2010 06:47 PM
[FS] CroSsFiRe's FS/WTB CroSsFiRe2009 Buy/Sell & Trade 23 February 19, 2010 08:26 PM
Q regarding Crossfire Jackquelegs Video Cards 4 March 29, 2009 02:52 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM