Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 08:27 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default Crossfire???

My friend just bought a new budget rig,
My question is will the powersupply he got be able to handle 2 6850's
or 2 6870's. If it can handle it, will the cpu bottleneck

this is the motherboard he got
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-H55M-UD2H LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU
Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750

Powersupply
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS700-PCAAE3-US 700W ATX 12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply

Last edited by bvsbutthd101; December 2, 2010 at 08:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 09:00 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

not quite sure who the oem is, ul lookup just lists cm : QQGQ8.E320127 - Power Supplies, Information Technology Equipment Including Electrical Business Equipment Certified for Canada - Component

but if it can do the specified numbers? why not.

6 series are quite nice on the juice demands :)


cpu will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 09:16 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

he's not getting 2 cards right away, starting off with one, just wanted to make sure the PSU could handle 2, so it's a ok on crossfire right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 09:24 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

should be ok.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 09:25 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

He should be able to. I am running a 750W Corsair PSU with an i7 940 overclocked to 3.8GHz and with 2 470s i didnt come close to over running my power supply. I've since switched to crossfire 6870s and i believe they use considerably less amount of power then the 470s. Also the i7 1366s use more power then the i5 1156.

If you want i can within the next few days see what my kill a watt meter says it uses during gaming or benchmarking

Last edited by Arinoth; December 2, 2010 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 09:27 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

OK, thanks, he'll be happy to know that :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 10:05 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

I personally wouldn't go above the 6850's on that particular unit. Coolmaster PSU's are...ok...but the OEM they choose is less than ideal. I think the Extreme's were Seventeams low end units. I'm never a fan of pushing a PSU that is less than ideal.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 12:26 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

I agree with ST in that the PSU is not a high quality unit.

That being said, 700 watts is lots for that system.

Pulling power from my system: i7 930 @ 4.0 | 2x 5870 @ 1000 / 1350 | GTS 450 for physx | 2 HDDs, 2 SSDs, 2 water pumps, fans

According to my kill-a-watt, I am drawing 220w at idle and right around 600w with 100% CPU and GPU load. This is from the wall. Even if my PSU was at it's maximum efficiency of 86%, then my system is actually maxing out at 516w on the DC side.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 01:40 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
I agree with ST in that the PSU is not a high quality unit.

That being said, 700 watts is lots for that system.

Pulling power from my system: i7 930 @ 4.0 | 2x 5870 @ 1000 / 1350 | GTS 450 for physx | 2 HDDs, 2 SSDs, 2 water pumps, fans

According to my kill-a-watt, I am drawing 220w at idle and right around 600w with 100% CPU and GPU load. This is from the wall. Even if my PSU was at it's maximum efficiency of 86%, then my system is actually maxing out at 516w on the DC side.
Oh I know 700W is overkill in the traditional sense. But I wouldn't but 100W on a questionable unit. Where as my HX650 I put 85% load right now on the AC side and its quite content.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 03:12 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Not the greatest board for Crossfire seeing as it's x16/x4 (and it looks like the x4 isn't 2.0 even)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enough for crossfire? CanadianZX Power Supplies 11 June 20, 2010 06:47 PM
Crossfire being disabled chibi_man O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 December 19, 2009 12:39 PM
Q regarding Crossfire Jackquelegs Video Cards 4 March 29, 2009 02:52 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
3870 Crossfire Scart Video Cards 6 August 17, 2008 05:14 PM