Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 02:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Upgrade from 480p to 720p

I bought a 32" 480p westinghouse for my apartmet a year ago and am now regreting not going wth 720p. Is it possible to upgrade to 720p that doesnt require me to go out and buy a new t.v.?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 02:51 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Some monitors will allow you to move from 480 to 720 or 720 to 1080 based on the input used; for instance, my TV will do 720p if I use component, but 1080p if I use HDMI.

If it doesn't do that, well you might have to buy a new TV.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 03:27 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Can you supply the model number of your current TV?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 12:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Mod #SK-32h240S
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 12:56 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rog/The/Martian View Post
Mod #SK-32h240S
Rog,

Went to Newegg.com for the info on your model. The native resolution of your TV is 1366x768, which for most purposes is essentially 720p. Can you elaborate on what exactly you want in 720p? Cable box, Xbox 360, etc? And what type of connection you are using (VGA, DVI, S-video, etc)?

If this is from a video card to the TV, you should just be able to adjust the resolution from inside windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I run a phillips dvd surround sound with video components connects. Also, i run alot of things off my laptop,movies ,music vids,movies etc through the VGA/D-sub port, this is mainly why I need to upgrade, the clarity of streaming live netflix from the laptop to the t.v sucks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 04:45 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

What resolution do you set on your TV when your laptop is connected?

What kind of network connection do you have? Netflix bases quality on your connection I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:55 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Speed View Post
What resolution do you set on your TV when your laptop is connected?

What kind of network connection do you have? Netflix bases quality on your connection I believe.
Very true. If the connection from the laptop looks fine when you are NOT using Netflix, it is more a Netflix problem than the TV or connection. Also, normal DVD players output 480p, while an upconverting player will output (up-convert) the signal to 720p if it is setup that way in its settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prefered Video Compression/Resolution (divx, 480p, 720p, 1080p) Arinoth HTPC Systems & Software 40 September 30, 2010 09:07 AM
[FS] Creative Vado HD 8GB 720P $65 Shipped riflepwnage Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 29, 2010 12:14 AM
cheap 720p 3D ready projector Polygon Display Units 2 March 15, 2010 10:56 PM
800$ 720p gaming build complete johnnyblazzwa New Builds 5 January 26, 2010 08:15 PM
LCD or Plasma? WTH is 720p and 1080i? Mr. Cipher Display Units 32 May 14, 2008 08:45 PM