Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 09:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary,Ab
Posts: 26
Default EVGA Gtx 275, SLI?

Built a PC September 2009, My question is i bought the gtx 275 as it was best price at the time, & also i could grab another one for SLI if need be.

Well i am out of the PC loop & noticed nobody sells the gtx 275 i assume it was discontinued i can find some for sale used & only pay $100-150 which is a good price, so Is it worth adding another one for SLI to further the life span of my PC or just save up & buy a new GPU next year? & if i SLI does it need to be the same speed GPU or can i buy a superclocked edition with a vanilla 275?

Any problems with many games anymore when doing SLI? My PC still runs everything fine yet to notice anty slow down but i figure grab a new GPU while i still can noticed some users selling some in the classified section as well.


AMD 965
Corsair 1600 6gb Ram.
750w power supply
Antec 300 case
EVGA GTX 275
ASUS M4A78T-E ATX 790GX Socket
Vista 64 bit
FYI i use a Samnsung 24" 1920x1200 monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 09:57 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Unless you do a driver hack, you won't be able to SLI on that board as its AMD with an AMD chipset and not a nVidia chipset (which is the way AMD works alas).

So what I would suggest is saving up for something from Team Red for Xfire in the future if your board supports it and selling your 275.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary,Ab
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Unless you do a driver hack, you won't be able to SLI on that board as its AMD with an AMD chipset and not a nVidia chipset (which is the way AMD works alas).

So what I would suggest is saving up for something from Team Red for Xfire in the future if your board supports it and selling your 275.

Regards,
ST

You are correct, looking at it now that is the Motherboard my brother bought, i have to go home & check what i bought...it was a Asus something EVO...forget the middle part & if i remember i made sure i bought one that could SLI, will update when i check my box at home.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:08 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

If it was the EVO 980a then you are golden, and for a mere 100 could get a reasonable performance increase. Though still, no DX11.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:23 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Barely used 480's are a great deal right now....should be able to pick one up for $325 - $375.....SLi 460's.......single 580........single 5870........etc etc....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 10:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary,Ab
Posts: 26
Default

Called my PC store i got it built at i bought the M4A76T-E so no SLI for me, thinking back. The way i was thinking i did this so i could do SLI because i always said i would never dual GPU & just buy a new one. No big deal maybe i will just grab a 5870 or 470.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 11:28 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^ You should consider building it yourself next time........thiers a ton of "help" available here....if I can do it..anyone can, the benefit is, you know your machine inside out and backwards....makes any potential troubleshooting a whole lot easier and cheaper!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 01:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary,Ab
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^ You should consider building it yourself next time........thiers a ton of "help" available here....if I can do it..anyone can, the benefit is, you know your machine inside out and backwards....makes any potential troubleshooting a whole lot easier and cheaper!!

I picked all my parts out & had memory express build it & install the OS, $50 extra but i could care less about building my own PC.

I price matched everything on pricecanada as well they were pissed but i could care less got a killer PC for next to nothing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] EVGA GTX 275 FtGF Buy/Sell & Trade 9 June 27, 2010 01:31 PM
SLI between different GTX 275's? bkh2 Video Cards 6 December 28, 2009 01:35 PM
GTX 260 SLI or GTX 275? CORE Video Cards 1 May 26, 2009 07:39 PM
GTX 295 sli vs GTX 275 tri-sli phil3_66666 Video Cards 12 April 29, 2009 11:03 PM