Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default GTX 580 thermal paste

I was getting 42c idle and 88c load temps with the fan ramping up to 72%. Seemed a little high, so I took off the vapour chamber heatsink and had a look... And there was no thermal paste in the centre! About 8mm square in the middle of the GPU and the contact plate was shiny clean... Horrible.

Waiting for the new paste to set up a bit, so far idling at 36c. I'll post load temps tomorrow. Anyone else done this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:18 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, what brand is yours. So I know which one not to get.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:58 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,713
Default

Yeah, I have heard the same issues. However, I believe it is mounting pressure rather than insufficient thermal paste.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 07:35 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

My thermal paste issue was fine. But the vapor chamber machining is terrible. I'm going to have to lap the sh!t out of it to get it flat. For now I still redid the TIM with MX2. Dropped my temps a lot under load.

HORRIBLE QC on the 580's. Feels like a really rushed job. I'll post pics in a bit.

edit: pics!







Pritty clear that this is just a bad machining job. The cutter should have gone down an extra couple thou to get the whole contact surface flush. Instead, the bottom right corner is not making contact with the IHS on the GPU.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about

Last edited by Sagath; November 17, 2010 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 09:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Yeah, I have heard the same issues. However, I believe it is mounting pressure rather than insufficient thermal paste.
You know, I think it just may be mounting pressure. I used IC Diamond, which typically cures quite quickly, and there is no difference in load temps; 88C with 71% fan speed. I could try re-applying the paste, but I'm pretty sure I did a good job...

Hmmmm... what to do, what to do... I have a Boreas, I could buy a water block and plumb it in. But would that have poor mounting pressure too? Still would perform much better I suppose, I run with the coolant at 25C, don't want to go sub-ambient because it's too loud in the bedroom...

EDIT: The machining on my vapour chamber is quite good, very flat with minimal tool marks. GPU heat spreader was flat too, just a little convex on the edges.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

@sarge : wait, if you mod it in any way, warranty goes right?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:10 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

depends. If it is with EVGA your warranty will be covered even if you lap the cooler.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that i didn't know. changing coolers, i did. but lapping? wow, that's one hell of a warranty
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:19 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
that i didn't know. changing coolers, i did. but lapping? wow, that's one hell of a warranty
Lapping the cooler won't affect your warranty in any way with any manufacturer. Lapping the IHS on the other hand will ALWAYS void your warranty on EVERY product.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:55 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that is interesting. i lapped one on an nvidia if memory serves right and it died later on, they refused it. been ages though. had to talk with level 4 to get it changed lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermal Pad vs. Thermal paste? RainMaker Troubleshooting 2 April 13, 2010 07:13 PM
Thermal Paste killerjay_47 Air Cooling 9 March 15, 2010 02:53 PM
Thermal Paste r0k0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 February 15, 2010 10:53 PM
Thermal Paste? Luckk Air Cooling 16 November 24, 2009 07:57 PM
Thermal Paste??? Salavat23 Water Cooling 6 December 27, 2007 05:43 PM