Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 12:29 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,070

My System Specs

Default

Something definitely seems messed up for you to get those frame rates. Out of curiosity did you try running it with only one card (single 4870x2). From what I understand 4870x2 when crossfired have lots of driver issues and poor scalability. Worth a shot anyway. Even with 0% increase from the second card you should have better numbers than that in SC2.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 12:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 345
Default

I have tried that as well. I get 26-28 fps @ 2560X1600 with everything maxed out. in SC2
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 01:34 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
... I'm sorry, but how does your framerate dip below 25 fps with FOUR 4870's? I run a single 4890 @ 1920 at max settings with ridiculous fps, even in intense battles. A single 4870x2 should destroy that, even at 50% CF scaling. drivers all up to date and such, as in an old version (10.5?) that runs well?
First off 2560x1600 has twice as many pixels as 1920x1080. And secondly HD4870X2 crossfire scales very poorly. Even w/ an HD5970 I had problems running Ultra detail in SC2 with any sort of AA.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 01:41 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 345
Default

There you go. lol I knew you'd be posting in here soon. So do you Reckon a 580 would fix my issue?
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 11:11 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by implosion222 View Post
There you go. lol I knew you'd be posting in here soon. So do you Reckon a 580 would fix my issue?
A 580 would fix any issue besides maxing Metro 2033.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 11:33 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

agreed with both lowfat and Belgolas....all these guys telling you something is wrong when plainly you have indicated 2560 x 1600 Res with "everything cranked"....wayyyy more demanding than 1920 x 1080 or even 1920 x 1200...4870x2 just plain sucked if I remember correctly...a ton of issues wasn't thier?

if you go 580 you won't be dissapointed....if you go SLi you won't have headaches...you're Res will love the 1.5Gb VRAM...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 06:00 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,070

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
agreed with both lowfat and Belgolas....all these guys telling you something is wrong when plainly you have indicated 2560 x 1600 Res with "everything cranked"....wayyyy more demanding than 1920 x 1080 or even 1920 x 1200...4870x2 just plain sucked if I remember correctly...a ton of issues wasn't thier?

if you go 580 you won't be dissapointed....if you go SLi you won't have headaches...you're Res will love the 1.5Gb VRAM...

My point is this:

An hd 5750 is slower than a singles hd 4870 and the 5750 bottoms out at min 35fps in the hardware canuck review here at 2500x1600. So even if there is 0% scaling from the 3 other 4870 chips (2x 4870x2) it should still be marginally faster than a single hd 5750. That is why I feel something is messed up.

All that said a 580 would solve these problems.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 02:00 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Well it looks like everything he could do was tried. I used to have a 4870x2 but I got rid of it very quickly because sometimes I would get worse performance than having just a single 4870. I will never buy dual GPU's again. They are plagued with issues.

Also the benchmark Bond007 posted is with 0xAA. I bet implosion222 is running AA.

So if you take the 5750 and put at least 4xAA that 35min FPS will drop to at least 15 FPS or less.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 04:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Yep....the OP stated 2560 x 1600 "everyting cranked"...I take that as Max AA / AF etc.....of course his Frames are going to dip dramatically.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 08:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

well, if there's CF problem, then that make's sense. Especially across the board of the OP's game, but having trouble in all games in an ideal system with 2x 4870x2's make no sense to me. I'm also basing off of my experience with my own 4890. and there's no AA in starcraft for a reason :P

I figured most x2 vid card issues were fixed by now?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce GTX 580 - Coming this December Avid6eek Reviews & Articles from the Web 150 November 9, 2010 06:48 AM