Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 01:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Unhappy Help Please - new graphics card - Computer doesn't boot

HI

I just purchased a new graphics card Powercolor HD5670 and installed it into a MSI 7297 motherboard however when I turn on the computer the bios does not load, these are the symptoms

- blue bios splash screen does not appear, just a blank screen
- All fans are going at full, meaning that the bios probably hasn't loaded the AMD cool and quite fan controller
- the Hard drive light is continually flashing on and off as if its loading buts its not.
- Also the screen is blank

I have tried the graphics card in another PC and it works fine.

The computer I'm having issues with is an HP DX2250 running the latest bios v1.12. The PCI express version is 1.0 but as I understand it a PCI express 2.1 card should work but with reduced bandwidth.

I don't know the PCI express version of the PC that it does work in, I have lost a utility that i downloaded once to tell me the PCI express version and now i can't find the download link again. (it wasn’t CPUZ)

Anyway I suspect that the either it the BIOS version is still too old (there isn't one after 2008) or the card doesn’t work in PCI 16x 1.0.

Any ideas?

Last edited by cl0ud; November 16, 2010 at 01:11 AM. Reason: add tags
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 04:14 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

A lot of people have had problems with the 5 series cards and older motherboards that are only PCI-E 1.0/1.1
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 04:57 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
A lot of people have had problems with the 5 series cards and older motherboards that are only PCI-E 1.0/1.1
Interesting.

What type of power supply is in that HP? Will the computer boot with the old video card? Could be that the PSU is not powerful enough.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 07:08 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Integrated graphics I believe. Pull out card, change graphics settings in bios, shut down, install new card. Hopefully when you restart it will be recognized.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 08:58 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

note i get its a HP MB made by MSI ms-7297

may have to reset bios for to get boot pci

spec's MB ver:2.1 (look on MB for white print)

MB: MS-7297 Ver:21
cpu: AMD K8 AM2 Athlon 64/Athlon 64 FX
system chipset: ATI SB600, ATI RS485
On Board Chipset: Winbond Super I/O -- W83627EHG Ver.H
HD Codec --ALC861
LAN -- RTL8100C/RTL8110SC
BIOS --LPC FLASH ROM 4M
Main Memory: DDR2 * 2 (Max 4GB)
Expansion Slots: PCI-E X 1 *1
PCI-E X 16 *1
PCI 2.3 Slot X 2
*1 can only use 1 PCI-e
PWM: Controller--Intersil ISL6566CR 3 Phase
Clock Generator: Controller--ICS 951464AGLF

Last edited by KaptCrunch; November 16, 2010 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 11:00 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if the above doesnt work, but then again what are the video output options? sometimes you got to jingle with them. like pci first, or peg/pci-e first.

if nothing works and you know the card is fine, and your psu can do it, then you would need to stay with a g92 or so from nv.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

The computer I'm trying to get the card to work in is a Althon 64 X2 3800 with 2 gig DDR2, one SATA HDD and one SATA DVD RW. All this is powered by a 400 watt cooler master power supply that I brought a few days ago, I know its not a great power supply but I'm on a budget and it reviewed ok.

The computer that the graphics card does work in is an HP DX6100 sorry I don't remember what motherboard. intel celeron 2.66, 2 gig DDR2, one SATA HDD and 1 IDE DVD RW, all powered by a 300 watt power supply.

I think that the computer that it does work in is probably older than the one that it doesn't work in so it seems very strange.

I'll have another go at changing bios settings but if that doesnt work then I guess I'll be looking at a buying new motherboard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer doesn't wake up from sleep cheeseshredder Troubleshooting 6 November 26, 2009 03:48 AM
Graphics Card Wont Boot Rypto Troubleshooting 10 June 27, 2009 11:11 PM
Graphics Card Wont Boot Rypto New Builds 0 June 24, 2009 02:13 PM
Computer turns on, but doesn't start up. Kytael Troubleshooting 16 June 6, 2009 05:40 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM