Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't all the GTX 580's be reference design right now? If so, you'd be able to tweak the voltage just as easy on non-ASUS cards. Maybe you'd have to track down a BIOS from another member here or elsewhere, but that's usually pretty easy.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:15 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

OC'ing these 580's will be a breeze with Precision (new release specific to this Card) and Overvolting with the new latest release of ELeet....but really, sounds like hitting 900 mhz core with no Voltage could be a possibility ....

btw...my Vanilla Evga 480's are 700 mhz core (stock)...825 Mhz OC with no Over Volt, a slight Over volt and managed 835 Mhz......so figure the Evga 580Sc come stock at 797 Mhz....900 Mhz most certainly could be a possibility without Over Volting ;)

Evga Precision works pefectly fine for OC'ing the GPU's ...very simple and now the new release Evga ELeet can be used to Over Volt the GPU's........

Look for crazy OC'able 480's for sale @ BST (great price) with Backplates high Flow Brackets etc etc...(hint hint)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; November 17, 2010 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:17 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't all the GTX 580's be reference design right now? If so, you'd be able to tweak the voltage just as easy on non-ASUS cards. Maybe you'd have to track down a BIOS from another member here or elsewhere, but that's usually pretty easy.
Wait like a BIOS that can edit voltages? So like an Asus BIOS to make it work with SmartDoctor or whatever their crap software is? I dunno, I trust EVGA more. And yeah all 580's are reference design, but I mean the 480's been out for 8 months now and there's not alot of design tweaks with it.

Damn, still torn...

EDIT: JUST REALIZED WE'RE NUTS OFF TOPIC. SORRY FOR THREADJACKING SKY! Oh, and forgot to thank you for the review too. I don't normally read many reviews but lately I've been going nuts with them. Thanks man
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 06:21 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
I read this article and I was like:

I'm f**king getting one.

If the throttling doesn't affect OC's or F@H performance or game performance when card is OC'ed, it's damn worth the extra $$$ for this beast. Ironically I was juuust about to order an EVGA SC 580 when I read this article. THANKS SKY!

Just to be certain, it's THIS ONE, RIGHT?
Yes, that's the one.


Unfortunately, the ASUS Voltage Tweak software is locked to cards registering the ASUS BIOS handle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 10:19 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

Man I want these but am gonna skip this generation unless some killer app comes out where I need more performance. These are such good cards!

Thanks for the review!
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2010, 04:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Would you be able to change the voltage on an evga one if you use afterburner?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2010, 05:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Afterburner allows voltage adjustment on pretty well all reference designed cards as well as on some non-reference MSI cards.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2010, 05:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Assuming that the latest version of Afterburner has support for the 580. If it doesn't, it's fairly safe to assume that it will soon.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2010, 06:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Assuming that the latest version of Afterburner has support for the 580. If it doesn't, it's fairly safe to assume that it will soon.
There's a beta that has support for it, 2.1.0 Beta 4, but unfortunately someone at MSI screwed it up a little so that the voltage adjustments can't be monitored and don't reset until you cold boot. I'm waiting for the final release which is coming after AMD releases their 6900 series.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2010, 06:52 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

Sky, would you expect even better overclock for this card if it is water-cooled?
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 186 December 8, 2010 02:29 AM
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 470 OC Edition Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 8 July 5, 2010 07:14 PM
ASUS Launches EAH5800 Series Graphics Cards with Voltage Tweak Technology FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 September 24, 2009 06:50 PM