Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 05:24 PM
Battery's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
Default GTX 580 or 470 sli for 3d vision

I'm trying to decide between an Asus GTX 580 or two MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 470's in sli for 3d vision.
Now my system is.. different. It's based around the Tyan s4985 Thunder n4250qe mother board and houses four Opteron 8356 quadcore cpus, each clocked at 2.3ghz.

So which do you think would be better for 3d vision at 19x12, and (assuming only one cpu to be used) is 2.3ghz going to bottleneck the 470's?

Thanks in advance!!
__________________
Gateway P-7811FX:
2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400
Nvidia GeForce 9800M GTS
4GB, 1066MHz DDR3
200GB 7,200rpm
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 05:56 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

OC the CPU....sell the single 470 and get 2x 580's (SLi) ;)

Seriously...SLi 470's will provide far better performance than a single 580......BUT (in the future) SLi 580's will kick some serious _ss !! Given the lower temps, lower power consumption, higher performance...the 580's are worth the upgrade.....

NV has a real winner here......yes you can wait n see what ATI has to counter, but the realtiy is, the ATI Card, if it is a better card than the 580 (temps, Power, Xfire Scalability, performance, noise) than it will likely be priced higher and likely a dual GPU Card (good luck with the Drivers).
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 05:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

I think your processor will bottleneck both the 580 and 470 in SLI.

Anyone else for input?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 06:06 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

He's definitely got to OC it a tad....3.8 Ghz would be good....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 06:10 PM
Battery's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
Default

With a bios flash and some luck I can push the cpu's to at least 2.5, I can't actually oc the cpu's, but I can use an ancient version of ntune to increase the HyperTransport clock of the mobo (see this), which raises the core clock and memory clock. I can't do any voltage bumps either.
To clarify, I haven't bought any video cards yet and this system has four quadcore processors.
__________________
Gateway P-7811FX:
2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400
Nvidia GeForce 9800M GTS
4GB, 1066MHz DDR3
200GB 7,200rpm
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 06:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

im thinking single card, wait till amd replies, at least for some better pricing.


even at 2.5 the cpu will keep you back, although at that resolution it won't matter much.

happy to see them ...folding? :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 07:38 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Thats right Dan....the OP's got to ge that CPU to at least 3.2 Ghz....or it will be holding back his GPU's.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2010, 08:57 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

So that system with 4 Opterons uses only 1 CPU for games at all?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2010, 12:02 AM
Battery's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
So that system with 4 Opterons uses only 1 CPU for games at all?
It's still a work in progress.. this weekend I'll be moving it from the table it was sprawled over into the haf 932 I just got.
It all depends on how threaded the game is. If it only makes 4 threads then it'll probably only use one cpu, if it can create more than 4 threads then it'll utilize more cpu's and I won't have to worry about a bottleneck.
I was trying to figure out if the dual 470s would bottleneck in a situation where the game only created a max of 4 threads, in which case only one processor would be used.
Then again, most of what I've said is based on assumptions and what I've read online. This is my first multi processor system and may be my first multi graphics card system.

All I was is concise evidence saying 'no, your system won't bottleneck' or 'yes, your system will bottleneck this badly'.

Also, Would folding benefit more from two 470s or one 580?
__________________
Gateway P-7811FX:
2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400
Nvidia GeForce 9800M GTS
4GB, 1066MHz DDR3
200GB 7,200rpm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
3d vision , gtx 470 , gtx 580 , quad , sli

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is nVidia GTX 470 a better choice than a ATI Radeon 5850 when used in SLI/Crossfire? kendrab Video Cards 9 November 8, 2010 02:49 PM
Comment Thread for NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 SLI Review SKYMTL Video Cards 48 April 19, 2010 02:49 PM