Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 06:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default Crossfire Setup

My Current Motherboard ASUS P5E supports crossfire.

My question is can I use 2 HD 6850's with my motherboard.

Or do I need a motherboard that supports crossfire x.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 06:18 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

You can use 2 6850. Cross fire X is with 2 different card ( which would work on your mobo ) or crossfire between a card and the onboard chipset.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 06:18 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Ninja'd!!!!
Again!!!!


And between Card and Chipset is Hybrid Crossfire.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 06:22 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I think your processor would be actually bottleneck the potential performance you'd get from crossfiring those cards.

You may be better picking up one 6870 instead

Last edited by Arinoth; November 9, 2010 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 06:40 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Ninja'd!!!!
Again!!!!


And between Card and Chipset is Hybrid Crossfire.

ST
Ho yeah hybrid. I wasn't sure so I just throw it all. Thx for the recall
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 09:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

give it a try. you will see a small dent in performance due to chipset limitations vs newer boards, and depending on thine preferred resolution cpu too, as advised before :) .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 11:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

Which Socket 775 processor would I need to get so the 2 6850's are not bottlenecked ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2010, 12:01 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

as per your specs, the Processor: Pentium Dual Core E6700 3.2GHZ


should be ok. you will lose points vs faster cpu's at lower resolutions, while not so much at higher ones (1920 and above). some games heavily depend on cpu, so those will show you the biggest difference.

not too many though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 11:51 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Posts: 315

My System Specs

Default

Hey.

Not to hijack a 6850 thread, but with the price falling on 5850s, I was wondering if it would be worth tossing in a 2nd 5850 with my current 5850. I know, many moons ago, I would read about issues with Crossfire performance, but have those issues been dealt with pretty much?

Currently, my 5850 does not labour through games, but I have not upgraded my rig since (what feels like) I wanted to go for the "cool factor" of Crossfire so I can impress my friends and familly.

Cheers!
Curious_Canuck :)
__________________
Se moquer de la philosophie, c'est vraiment philosopher. - Blaise Pascal
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 12:01 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

IMO, there will always be issues with Crossfire(and SLi). It's all a matter of being able to live with them or not.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire Multi-monitor setup? nzorov Video Cards 4 April 16, 2010 08:33 AM
Crossfire setup with random shutdowns NightRain Troubleshooting 4 June 22, 2009 11:27 AM
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 05:17 PM
Q regarding Crossfire Jackquelegs Video Cards 4 March 29, 2009 02:52 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM