Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 08:47 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The AMD countdown would read: unknown.

Seriously.
Which probably reads as AMD isn't overly impressed with whatever samples theyve seen of the new 580. Hmmmm... Guess they'll wait to perfect it instead of rushing it out the door. To them, the 580 probably isnt much of a threat, or doesn't beat a 5970 enough to scare them.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 09:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

from what i gathered, 580 ~ oc'ed 480 but,from what they say, not as power hungry? lets see that. they neutered some stuff out of it, might make it or not.
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 09:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Which probably reads as AMD isn't overly impressed with whatever samples theyve seen of the new 580. Hmmmm... Guess they'll wait to perfect it instead of rushing it out the door. To them, the 580 probably isnt much of a threat, or doesn't beat a 5970 enough to scare them.
impressed or not nvidia is holding the top of single gpu line for a while now, just like it was when the 5870 was alone on the market, amd have no answer for 480/580 yet and nothing in the short future if the rumors are true, no matter how good is cayman it doesn't bring much sales right now.
__________________
  #34 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 10:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I would assume 6 pin and 8 pin.......right now Martin I'm torn....new 27" Dell or new GPU's......or both......man, I'm continuously dumping $$$ into this damn box...the wife is right, it will never end ;) Buwhahahahahaha
Go for the monitor man! You can't enjoy the power without a beautiful screen :)
  #35 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 10:45 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

NDA

N D A

N D A

IS OVER


SOON!


And soon we'll get to hear all about the new quieter somehow less hot yet more powerful Fermi card.


I like the idea of graphics cards being used to heat your house in the winter so I'm not sure what to think about this one.
  #36 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 10:47 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

GTX 480 was Nvidia's Vista, I hope GTX 580 is Windows 7
  #37 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 10:50 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

Everyone's posting my video all over the place.... I blame the intern for not hitting apply after he clicked "private" on the video upload.............
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
  #38 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 11:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linus View Post
Everyone's posting my video all over the place.... I blame the intern for not hitting apply after he clicked "private" on the video upload.............
blame the makers of keepvid and the like that lets one snatch it off there. bastuges!

still, good jobbe showing us today's review's item, mr intern ;)
  #39 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 11:13 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Question Geforce refresh and Quadro refresh?

Now, I have been curious, will this refresh from 4xx to 5xx translate into the Quadro line of the pro cards as well?
  #40 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 11:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Is there any tests out yet ?
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fallout 3 - Megaton Countdown misterlarry Gaming 84 October 30, 2008 08:10 AM
Quirky system crashing on a countdown timer Jadeonar Troubleshooting 10 September 7, 2008 07:56 AM
Countdown - HCF Folding team to the top 800? 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 August 8, 2007 06:10 AM
Countdown - HCF Folding team to the top 1000 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 36 August 5, 2007 04:30 AM
Countdown - HCF Folding team to the top 2000 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 42 May 30, 2007 08:01 PM