Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 01:16 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default my CPU bottlenecking my GPUs?

getting an average of 60fps in bad company 2, with lows of 29.

looking at reviews, i see crossfire 6850s doing 100 or so fps in bad company 2.

Is my CPU really that bad that it's cutting my performance so much? even overclocked at 4.2?
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 05:09 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 366

My System Specs

Default

BF:BC2 is kind of CPU dependant. A quad core would improve your frames by a lot in this game.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 06:21 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Your GPU is not bottlenecked by the CPU. but, is your max FPS settedto 60? if yes that could be the issue.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:16 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Brian are the frame rates mentioned occuring during online play or single player operations?
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

BC2 is indeed CPU happy - having a quad core on bc2 seems to help people alot.

but I wouldn't say your gpus are starved, no. probably not much you can do about that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 07:49 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

what res are you playing at? might actually help knowing in some cases
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 10:03 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Get an I7 Quad Core and OC it........

Most of these new Games are optimized for CPU Multi Cores (Quad)....also, how great is that GPU and more importantly the scalability of 2 in XFire....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; November 7, 2010 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 10:41 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

playing at 1680x1050, no frame rate is not limited to 60,as it does go over 100 on some occasions.(like in a really dark room looking at a wall)
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 10:42 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Get an I7 Quad Core and OC it........

Most of these new Games are optimized for CPU Multi Cores (Quad)....also, how great is that GPU and more importantly the scalability of 2 in XFire....

all the reviews show 40-80% scalability in crossfire for 6850s in this game, so the scalability is what i would call damn good.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2010, 11:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

it might be the chipset on the mobo holding you back in some instances, not too sure about the cpu in an overall gaming perspective.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reduce bottlenecking without OC areszues92 Video Cards 31 September 22, 2010 09:18 PM
NVIDIA Removes Restriction on ATI GPUs with NVIDIA GPUs Processing PhysX burebista Reviews & Articles from the Web 80 May 31, 2010 05:47 PM
[FS] Folding PC (needs CPU) Includes: Mobo(k9a2 plat.),2 gpus,hdd,PSU,dvd,Case. Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 15 January 11, 2010 09:58 PM
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 05:36 PM
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 09:16 AM