Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 11:47 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default 3850/3870 o/c question

I was planning on getting one of theres for an o/c rig, not so much for bleeding edge, hi-res gaming (my monitor for this rig is 1280x1024 for quite a while), but a lower priced card I can o/c.

From reviews etc it seems the 3870 can a/c to 1ghz (I know there is more to it than that), but I havent found any 3850 o/cs any where near that. But the share the same core, what gives?

I am leaning towards the 3850 due only to the cheaper price and it not being more than I need. But the 50 dollar difference isnt toooo much of a deterrent if it is worth while.

remember 1280x1024.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 11:54 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 428
Default

If I remember correctly in order to do a high overclock you need a modded BIOS as there is a power/voltage problem when overclocking.

Unlock your Radeon HD3870 - The INQUIRER
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 01:16 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Sure, but I still havent seen a 3850 do 385 on the core, which the 3870 will do no problem without the BIOS mod.

And why would the BIOS mod not be availible for the 3850 if it is the same core?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2007, 03:53 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 428
Default

Because the HD3870 and HD3850 are electronically and physically different.

Thats like saying why can't you flash an 8800GTS 640MB using an 8800GTX BIOS even though both use the same G80 GPU core.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 12:06 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by werty316 View Post
Because the HD3870 and HD3850 are electronically and physically different.

Thats like saying why can't you flash an 8800GTS 640MB using an 8800GTX BIOS even though both use the same G80 GPU core.
I wasnt asking if you could flash a 3870 bios on a 3850, but rather why isnt there a BIOS flash for the 3850 like there is for the 3870, seeing as they are the same core.

if the cores are the same they are the same are they not? if they are "electronically different" then they are not the same cores and should have different names.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 12:30 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Well, I can't say I have overclocked my HD 3850 yet (it's part of an Xmas gift for my bro), I must say that it performs remarkably well stock @ 1280x1024 ...

Where on Van Isle are you ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 12:54 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Just because two GPU's share the same core (such as the 3850 and 3870), doesn't mean they have interchangable BIOS. And in this case, it's quite definite that the BIOS' are NOT interchangable. I know there's a BIOS fix for the 3870 out, which removes an overclock limiter (frequency divider issue, I believe), but I haven't heard of one for the 3850 yet.

That aside, it wouldn't surprise me to learn that they bin the cores, and the better ones go into the 3870 cards.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3850 AGP reviewed-yes, AGP Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 8 February 19, 2008 02:51 PM
Hard to find HIS 3870 ICEQ3 or Instock 3850 ICEQ3 Turbox BALISTX Video Cards 7 January 25, 2008 09:51 PM
WTB Videocard ATI 3850/3870 or nvida 8800 genx Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 08:26 AM
What do you think of the HD 3850? AFG34 Video Cards 1 December 6, 2007 09:45 PM
More leaked slides of the 3850 from AMD! qwerty Rumor Mill 3 November 14, 2007 06:52 PM