Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 07:14 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

its not that simple, would need a ESD safe electronic temperature controlled soldering station for the static discharge also a solder sucker

and pay attention to polarity of caps the shaded side = negitive, match them up to PCB
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 07:27 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
its not that simple, would need a ESD safe electronic temperature controlled soldering station for the static discharge also a solder sucker

and pay attention to polarity of caps the shaded side = negitive, match them up to PCB
Yeah , that's why I have my Hakko Station downstairs.
Cost me a lot, but its worth it. Mind you , you can make due with less and a little ingenuity and I've done it with less and had it work.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 04:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Posts: 9
Default

Hey thanks all for your help and info. problem solved as the seller allowed me to return the hardware, i got my money back. easier and cheaper than picking up a soldering station! lol
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 04:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool. for reference sake, may we know who sold you those defective cards without mention of the issues?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 07:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Posts: 9
Default current ad

he has them back up on kijiji. upon return he claimed that they still worked and admitted he new about the popped caps, and it leaves me wondering why he neglected to tell me in the first place. the ad is here:
2 EVGA 7300 GT PCI-E SLI Video Cards - Barrie Computer Parts For Sale - Kijiji Barrie Canada. current as of november 01 2010. later all.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 07:34 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avatardvr View Post
Hey thanks all for your help and info. problem solved as the seller allowed me to return the hardware, i got my money back. easier and cheaper than picking up a soldering station! lol
Yes its much cheaper, I saved for a long time to get my station. Its worth it though.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 07:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Posts: 9
Default station

I agree. I'll be saving up for one as well. Ive modified xbox's in the past with a 40watt soldering iron. fun stuff. would like some good equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 08:05 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Yeah , that's why I have my Hakko Station downstairs.
Cost me a lot, but its worth it. Mind you , you can make due with less and a little ingenuity and I've done it with less and had it work.

ST
yes can do by heat up a cheap pencil iron then un-plug from wall and touch ground then solder till it cools then repeat
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2010, 08:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

thanks man. added him on the sht bookmarklist.

ps contact kijiji
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2010, 08:28 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avatardvr View Post
I agree. I'll be saving up for one as well. Ive modified xbox's in the past with a 40watt soldering iron. fun stuff. would like some good equipment.
Never had to do an X-box as of yet. Most of mine are on Receivers, Amps, Projectors etc etc. AV and staging equipment. Learned from my father on that stuff, pretty neat to have a unit that does all sorts.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
capacitor , card , replacement , video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large improvements in xfire with CAP 10.8a thorn Video Cards 6 August 30, 2010 11:39 AM
The real Cap.Price? cmac79 Off Topic 1 July 10, 2010 03:11 PM
CAP LAN this weekend! Polygon Canadian LAN Parties & Events 0 March 22, 2010 06:45 PM
Going over the Cogeco cap? Jonwall Networking 0 January 23, 2010 07:47 AM
Need options regarding soldering a cap 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 39 October 25, 2008 07:50 AM