Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:20 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,920

My System Specs

Default folding/PhysX on x1 slot?

I'm looking to buy a Crosshair 4 Extreme to try the Lucid chip out. And I just found out that one of the PCIe slots runs @ x1 when all 5 slots are being used. Has anyone tried folding w/ a card in a x1 electrical slot?
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:39 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,631
Default

I would imagine folding to not be immensely memory bandwidth intensive. It probably doesn't even saturate a 1x bus. but dont quote me, this is pure guessing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:55 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,228

My System Specs

Default

There should be no problems folding whatsoever. I have done it on 4X slots and there was absolutely no difference in Points from that to a 16X so I would imagine the same would be true even on 1X.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,557

My System Specs

Default

I've people have run folding cards in a physical 1x slot via adapter w/o any PPD hits, shouldn't be a problem for you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 11:39 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 792

My System Specs

Default

I ran a physX card in a PCIe 1.1 1x electrical slot and worked fine but when I upgraded my board I ran the same card in a PCIe 2.0 8x electrical slot and I got a significant gain in fluidmark.
__________________
GAMER: Win10 Pro x64, I7 3770K (4.7Ghz) (corsair H110i), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, EVGA GTX 1080 FTW, Gskill 2 x 8 GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, Mx 500 SSD, HX750W, Sound blaster Z, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 11:49 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,920

My System Specs

Default

I've decided to ditch the whole C4E idea. It can't do 4 GPU's over the HyrdaLogix.

So no need do worry about a x1 slot.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need an graphic card for x4 slot jksynapse Video Cards 6 February 18, 2012 04:27 PM
Folding in ATI system /w Nvidia for Physx headsh0t HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 July 20, 2010 08:37 PM
Building a dual GPU folding machine with one 16x and one 4x slot Photograph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 28, 2010 12:28 AM
ATI + Nvidia Physx Folding question nakano2k1 Video Cards 2 February 4, 2010 05:11 PM
PhysX card for folding hertz9753 Video Cards 8 May 12, 2009 07:35 PM