Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:12 PM
Cobrajr122's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default GTX 280 GPU2 not underclocking

Title says most of it.

I have 2 EVGA GTX 280 ssc's. When they are idle, one under clocks itself, and one does not. I would like it to also under clock to lower temps and power usage.



I have done some googleing and not much comes up, mostly people trying to stop it from downclocking. So no luck there :(

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

does this happen with sli enabled, or both?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:17 PM
Cobrajr122's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

This is currently happening with SLI enabled, Ill disable it and edit this post with and answer for you.

EDIT

With SLI OFF - GPU2 drops down to the normal idle under clock, and GPU 1 now sits just above the idle under clock.

So is there a way to fix this while keeping SLI on?
__________________


Last edited by Cobrajr122; October 7, 2010 at 09:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:42 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Been down this road a few times....its always Driver related....try a previous Driver that they downclocked properly with......which Driver are you presently using?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 09:53 PM
Cobrajr122's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

I am currently using the newest beta drivers.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

beta :)

go back to the nearest whql.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 10:43 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

258.96 or as I said, the last version which the Cards downclocked properly on...during the 19x.xx Driver release, I stuck to my 18x.xx Drivers as none of those newer Drivers would downclock my 280's properly......btw, my 480's are downclocking fine on the 260.xx Beta's....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2010, 09:42 PM
Cobrajr122's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

I have dropped back down to 258.96 and the problem still persists in SLI mode. :(

I guess Ill just have to live with it.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2010, 09:51 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ 1 Driver change may not solve it.....don't give up...try a few of the previous Drivers until you find one that it functions correctly......was 258.96 working (downclocking) your Cards properly? Are you doing a "clean install"..?....as in Driver Sweeper, CCleaner etc etc....also uninstall and re-install Precison (if your using it)..as in clean install Precision after clean install of Drivers. Trust me....I have been down this road...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 470 Underclocking Problem Iphikratous Troubleshooting 5 September 1, 2010 04:50 PM
GTX 280 vs GTX 280 SLI...Benches rjbarker Video Cards 39 November 16, 2008 03:36 PM
XFX GTX 280 or e-VGA GTX 280 CrimsoN Video Cards 13 October 17, 2008 11:40 PM
GTX 280 vs. GTX 260 vs. 8800 GTX review -n7- Member Reviews 11 September 27, 2008 10:00 AM